Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Henderson MS

Rusk County · Region 07: Kilgore · 689 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
+10 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−1.1 ptsvs 79.1 average · 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,138 of 2,012tied with 86 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 69 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.1 average for 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
53%vs 42.9% avg · +10.1 pts
Masters
28%vs 18.7% avg · +9.3 pts

Among 1,742 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

79 +5.8 pts vs 73.2

  • 79 is 5.8 points above the 73.2 average among 1,828 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Henderson MS is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.1 average for 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 10 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,138th of 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 86 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHenderson MS 6868617978 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 69 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7879.1 2,012 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7978.8 1,993 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6176.7 1,978 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6877.2 1,951 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6881.9 1,932 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement73 C−3.0 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • School Progress79 C−1.1 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps75 C−1.3 vs similar economic context · 1,873 reporting
  • Academic Growth79 C+5.8 vs similar economic context · 1,828 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+0.5 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Henderson MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,012 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement73C7
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps75C5
Academic Growth79C1
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (79), so Student Achievement (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level66%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level48%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,012 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
689
Economically disadvantaged
70.1%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
17.1%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.2%+3.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.3%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
16.7%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Henderson MS

African American: 19%Hispanic: 37.4%White: 36.9%American Indian: 0.6%Asian: 0.7%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 5.1%
  • African American 19%
  • Hispanic 37.4%
  • White 36.9%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Asian 0.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 5.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,012 reporting for every category shown · 2,012 in full cohort

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 56.7%White: 24.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 56.7%
  • White 24.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
689
Economically disadvantaged students
483
Emergent bilingual students
118
Special education students
153

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
82
Students in TEA mobility denominator
744
TEA-published mobility rate
11%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 689 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 11 (1.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
689

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−11

Decrease · −1.6%

Change since 2021–22
−106

Decrease · −13.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
689
Selected comparison
636.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Henderson MS
School yearStudents enrolledHenderson MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 795 First available year 648
2022–23 785 Decrease of 10 (1.3%) 654.9
2023–24 759 Decrease of 26 (3.3%) 654.1
2024–25 700 Decrease of 59 (7.8%) 652
2025–26 689 Decrease of 11 (1.6%) 636.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
131

17.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
318

42.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
744

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
17.6%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,535 rated schools reporting

+4.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
42.74
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 rated schools reporting

+11.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Henderson MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 825 139 16.9% 289 35.03 9.6% 19
2021–22 846 208 24.6% 547 64.66 12.9% 30.2
2022–23 832 144 17.3% 357 42.91 13.5% 32.4
2023–24 810 157 19.4% 325 40.12 13.3% 32.2
2024–25 744 131 17.6% 318 42.74 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Henderson MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 131 17.6% 318 42.74 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 107 14.4% 225 30.24 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 37 5.0% 44 5.91 7.4% 11.1
DAEP placements 36 4.8% 49 6.59 5.2% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 18 2.4% 22 2.96 3.7% 4.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 23 3.1% 27 3.63 2.9% 3.5
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Henderson MS
  • Parent district: Henderson ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,558
Selected comparison
$13,203

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

−$3,645 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,558 per student for this campus, $14,627 per student for its parent district, Henderson ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHenderson MSParent district: Henderson ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,019$11,185$13,054$8,024 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,857 rated schools reporting
2019$5,926$10,923$13,108$8,186 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,874 rated schools reporting
2020$7,174$11,169$14,058$8,743 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 rated schools reporting
2021$7,311$11,964$14,797$9,233 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,909 rated schools reporting
2022$7,730$12,962$15,708$10,499 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting
2023$10,869$15,659$16,792$11,189 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,953 rated schools reporting
2024$9,134$15,499$18,125$12,419 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,977 rated schools reporting
2025$9,558$14,627$18,972$13,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$62,834−$3,592 vs similar economic context
Teachers
50+6.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.9−0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Henderson MS

Beginning: 2%1 to 5 years: 29.6%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 28.2%21 to 30 years: 16.1%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 2%
  • 1 to 5 years 29.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,012 reporting for every category shown · 2,012 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Henderson MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHenderson MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 617.317.9
Secondary English17.915.2
Secondary languages other than English2117.9
Secondary math20.116.2
Secondary science18.417.5
Secondary social studies18.817.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

10 measures

  • 5of 19

    Reading — Masters

    Rusk County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 5of 18

    Science — Masters

    Rusk County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 6of 18

    Academic Growth

    Rusk County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 6of 18

    Science — Meets

    Rusk County · of the 18 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 12

    Social Studies — Meets

    Rusk County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 12

    Social Studies — Masters

    Rusk County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 9of 22

    Per-student spending

    Rusk County · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 9of 19

    All Subjects — Masters

    Rusk County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 10of 19

    Math — Masters

    Rusk County · of the 19 that report this measure

  • 10of 18

    Science — Approaches

    Rusk County · of the 18 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 201902041.