Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hempstead Elem

Waller County · Region 04: Houston · 629 students

Current score
71/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−6.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,385 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,740 of 2,385tied with 29 others
C71

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 60 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.4 average for 2,385 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

17.2% −5.3 pts vs 22.5%

  • 17.2% is 5.3 percentage points lower than the 22.5% average among 2,270 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hempstead Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 71 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.4 average for 2,385 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,740th of 2,385 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 29 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: Hispanic, English Learners, Continuously Enrolled

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
34.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,385 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
8.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,385 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHempstead Elem 6359596871 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 60 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7177.4 2,385 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6877.1 2,373 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5973.9 2,355 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5973.9 2,344 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6381.7 2,316 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement58 F−12.7 vs similar economic context · 2,223 reporting
  • School Progress71 C−7.6 vs similar economic context · 2,217 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps71 C−3.6 vs similar economic context · 2,203 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−1.6 vs similar economic context · 2,177 reporting
  • Relative Performance60 D−16.7 vs similar economic context · 2,217 reporting
  • Hempstead Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,385 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement58F2
School Progress71C9
Closing the Gaps71C9
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance60D10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 9 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (71), so Student Achievement (58) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 71.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level55%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,223 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,223 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,223 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,222 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,222 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,222 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level47%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Meets grade level17%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,385 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
629
Economically disadvantaged
87.4%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
42.1%+5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
9.7%−8.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
17.2%−5.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hempstead Elem

African American: 21.1%Hispanic: 68.9%White: 7.5%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.5%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 21.1%
  • Hispanic 68.9%
  • White 7.5%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,385 reporting for every category shown · 2,385 in full cohort

African American: 14.3%Hispanic: 74.3%White: 7.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 14.3%
  • Hispanic 74.3%
  • White 7.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
627
Economically disadvantaged students
548
Emergent bilingual students
264
Special education students
61

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
71
Students in TEA mobility denominator
590
TEA-published mobility rate
12%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 629 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 194 (23.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
629

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−194

Decrease · −23.6%

Change since 2021–22
−166

Decrease · −20.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
629
Selected comparison
591

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hempstead Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHempstead ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 795 First available year 631.7
2022–23 834 Increase of 39 (4.9%) 627.7
2023–24 812 Decrease of 22 (2.6%) 618.4
2024–25 823 Increase of 11 (1.4%) 612.8
2025–26 629 Decrease of 194 (23.6%) 591

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
65

7.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
151

16.87 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
895

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.3%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,567 rated schools reporting

−6.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
16.87
Selected comparison
31.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,687 rated schools reporting

−15.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hempstead Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 863 36 4.2% 53 6.14 7.6% 14.7
2021–22 885 71 8.0% 152 17.18 12.7% 30.3
2022–23 934 53 5.7% 161 17.24 13.6% 33.4
2023–24 928 36 3.9% 74 7.97 13.8% 33.8
2024–25 895 65 7.3% 151 16.87 13.3% 31.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hempstead Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 65 7.3% 151 16.87 13.3% 31.9
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 65 7.3% 137 15.31 9.0% 14.6
DAEP placements 11 1.2% 14 1.56 5.2% 6.3
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$14k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Hempstead Elem
  • Parent district: Hempstead ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,000
Selected comparison
$12,973

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,371 rated schools reporting

−$2,973 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,000 per student for this campus, $20,686 per student for its parent district, Hempstead ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHempstead ElemParent district: Hempstead ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,238$13,031$13,054$8,290 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,250 rated schools reporting
2019$6,990$12,790$13,108$8,338 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,282 rated schools reporting
2020$7,103$13,069$14,058$8,853 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,292 rated schools reporting
2021$7,434$14,020$14,797$9,584 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,297 rated schools reporting
2022$7,344$14,433$15,708$11,091 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,316 rated schools reporting
2023$7,802$17,056$16,792$11,628 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,342 rated schools reporting
2024$7,646$15,897$18,125$12,429 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,356 rated schools reporting
2025$10,000$20,686$18,972$12,973 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,371 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,807−$4,042 vs similar economic context
Teachers
35−6.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.7+3.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hempstead Elem

Beginning: 2.8%1 to 5 years: 35.1%6 to 10 years: 17%11 to 20 years: 25.5%21 to 30 years: 19.8%
  • Beginning 2.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 35.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 17%
  • 11 to 20 years 25.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,385 reporting for every category shown · 2,385 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.3%1 to 5 years: 27.3%6 to 10 years: 18.9%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hempstead Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHempstead Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten21.618.1
Grade 121.718.4
Grade 224.918.3
Grade 323.418.6
Grade 421.818.7
Grade 527.419.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 7of 17

    Attendance

    Waller County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 10of 17

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Waller County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 237902101.