Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Harris County Juvenile Detention Center

Excel Academy · Houston · 141 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Not Rated

At a glance

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter campus is below.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

No academic result met this site’s published threshold for a selected positive signal against Similar economic-disadvantage rate.

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

TEA did not issue an overall rating for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center for 2025-26. Everything TEA did publish for this charter campus is below.

TEA did not issue an overall rating for this school. Scores below are the figures TEA published; the letter grades are the state's where it issued them.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter average 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26Not Rated—80.1 298 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25Not Rated—78.7 292 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24Not Rated—76.3 284 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23Not Rated—75.8 275 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22Not Rated—83.5 258 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 74 · 298 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 81.1 · 298 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 76.7 · 293 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.1 · 284 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 79.3 · 294 reporting
  • Harris County Juvenile Detention Center
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (298 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

The scores above are the ones TEA published. TEA did not issue letter grades for this school, so none are shown: the A–F thresholds marked on the chart are the state's, but applying them here would produce a grade the state chose to withhold.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
141
Economically disadvantaged
95.7%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
21.6%−23.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
28.8%+16.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
90.9%−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
25.0%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Harris County Juvenile Detention Center

African American: 53.2%Hispanic: 40.3%White: 3.6%Two or More Races: 2.9%
  • African American 53.2%
  • Hispanic 40.3%
  • White 3.6%
  • Two or More Races 2.9%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 298 reporting for every category shown · 298 in full cohort

African American: 17.7%Hispanic: 76.3%White: 3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 17.7%
  • Hispanic 76.3%
  • White 3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
139
Economically disadvantaged students
133
Emergent bilingual students
30
Special education students
40

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education type: residential facility
  • Rated under AEA procedures
  • Residential treatment facility under AEA or AskTED

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
733
Students in TEA mobility denominator
762
TEA-published mobility rate
96.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 141 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 24 (14.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
141

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−24

Decrease · −14.5%

Change since 2021–22
+28

Increase · +24.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
141
Selected comparison
513.7

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 296 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center
School yearStudents enrolledHarris County Juvenile Detention CenterChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 113 First available year 484
2022–23 136 Increase of 23 (20.4%) 499
2023–24 113 Decrease of 23 (16.9%) 511.8
2024–25 165 Increase of 52 (46.0%) 513.6
2025–26 141 Decrease of 24 (14.5%) 513.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
544

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 338 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 398 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 455 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 495 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 544 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$23k20182020202220242025
  • Harris County Juvenile Detention Center
  • Parent district: Excel Academy
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,593
Selected comparison
$12,123

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 295 rated charter campuses reporting

+$1,470 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,593 per student for this campus, $17,968 per student for its parent district, Excel Academy, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHarris County Juvenile Detention CenterParent district: Excel AcademyTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$12,852$15,422$13,054$8,709 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 170 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$13,023$17,180$13,108$8,602 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 220 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$16,359$18,173$14,058$9,290 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 234 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$16,873$20,038$14,797$9,644 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$14,302$20,650$15,708$11,624 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 269 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$9,834$17,631$16,792$11,637 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 278 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$14,982$21,971$18,125$11,570 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 285 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$13,593$17,968$18,972$12,123 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 295 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$75,669+$11,485 vs similar economic context
Teachers
15−14.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
9.3−8.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Harris County Juvenile Detention Center

1 to 5 years: 6.7%6 to 10 years: 6.7%11 to 20 years: 47%21 to 30 years: 32.9%Over 30 years: 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 6.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 6.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 47%
  • 21 to 30 years 32.9%
  • Over 30 years 6.7%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 298 reporting for every category shown · 298 in full cohort

Beginning: 13.5%1 to 5 years: 47.5%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 14.6%21 to 30 years: 4%Over 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 13.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 47.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 4%
  • Over 30 years 0.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Harris County Juvenile Detention Center in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHarris County Juvenile Detention Center · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 4124.2
Grade 5123.6
Grade 61.723.3
Secondary English10.618.9
Secondary math9.919.5
Secondary science9.520.2
Secondary social studies10.720.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101811001.