Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Hallsville West Elem

Harrison County · Region 07: Kilgore · 713 students

Current score
83/1002025-26
Change
−4 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+0.6 ptsvs 82.4 average · 1,622 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
792 of 1,622tied with 65 others
B83

At a glance

The available rating history is moving down. The current score is above the 82.4 average for 1,622 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 54.1% avg · +4.9 pts
Masters
26%vs 23.7% avg · +2.3 pts

Among 1,571 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
57%vs 47.8% avg · +9.2 pts
Masters
28%vs 19.5% avg · +8.5 pts

Among 1,563 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Student Achievement above the similar-context average

85 +2.7 pts vs 82.3

  • 85 is 2.7 points above the 82.3 average among 1,571 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hallsville West Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.4 average for 1,622 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 4 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 792nd of 1,622 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 65 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHallsville West Elem 87919183 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8382.4 1,622 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9182.8 1,594 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9180.7 1,568 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8781.2 1,550 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,571 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,565 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps77 C−2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,555 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C−1.0 vs similar economic context · 1,538 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,565 reporting
  • Hallsville West Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,622 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps77C3
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (85), so School Progress (82) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level82%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,571 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,571 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,571 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,569 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,569 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,569 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,563 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,563 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,563 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,622 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
713
Economically disadvantaged
47.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
10.9%−1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.0%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.5%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hallsville West Elem

African American: 8.9%Hispanic: 26%White: 58.7%Asian: 0.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.8%
  • African American 8.9%
  • Hispanic 26%
  • White 58.7%
  • Asian 0.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,622 reporting for every category shown · 1,622 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 39.6%White: 43.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 39.6%
  • White 43.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
705
Economically disadvantaged students
338
Emergent bilingual students
77
Special education students
106

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
61
Students in TEA mobility denominator
571
TEA-published mobility rate
10.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 713 students in 2025–26, an increase of 10 (1.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
713

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+10

Increase · +1.4%

Change since 2022–23
−10

Decrease · −1.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
713
Selected comparison
659.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,585 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hallsville West Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHallsville West ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 723 First available year 663.4
2023–24 740 Increase of 17 (2.4%) 662.4
2024–25 703 Decrease of 37 (5.0%) 659.5
2025–26 713 Increase of 10 (1.4%) 659.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
33

4.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
61

8.27 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
738

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.5%
Selected comparison
11.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,264 rated schools reporting

−7.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
8.27
Selected comparison
26.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,357 rated schools reporting

−17.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hallsville West Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 772 40 5.2% 62 8.03 12.2% 27.3
2023–24 796 47 5.9% 130 16.33 12.2% 27.8
2024–25 738 33 4.5% 61 8.27 11.8% 26.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hallsville West Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 33 4.5% 61 8.27 11.8% 26.2
In-school suspensions 33 4.5% 59 7.99 10.6% 20.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k20232025
  • Hallsville West Elem
  • Parent district: Hallsville ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,211
Selected comparison
$12,033

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,592 rated schools reporting

−$2,822 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,211 per student for this campus, $11,409 per student for its parent district, Hallsville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHallsville West ElemParent district: Hallsville ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$13,413$12,282$16,792$10,635 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 rated schools reporting
2024$8,517$12,224$18,125$11,602 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,566 rated schools reporting
2025$9,211$11,409$18,972$12,033 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,592 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,211−$6,767 vs similar economic context
Teachers
54+11.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13−7.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hallsville West Elem

1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 14.8%11 to 20 years: 33.3%21 to 30 years: 24%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 33.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 24%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,622 reporting for every category shown · 1,622 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 24.1%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hallsville West Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHallsville West Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.618
Grade 11818.4
Grade 218.818.6
Grade 319.619.1
Grade 41919.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 24

    Math — Masters

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

16 measures

  • 4of 24

    Math — Meets

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 5of 24

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 5of 24

    All Subjects — Masters

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 6of 24

    Student Achievement

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 24

    All Subjects — Meets

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 6of 24

    Math — Approaches

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 6of 24

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 7of 24

    Academic Growth

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 7of 24

    Attendance

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 8of 25

    Overall score

    Harrison County · of the 25 that report this measure

  • 8of 24

    Closing the Gaps

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

  • 8of 24

    Relative Performance

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 24

    Reading — Meets

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 24

    School Progress

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 24

    Reading — Approaches

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 24

    Reading — Masters

    Harrison County · of the 24 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 102904109.