Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Gus Winston Cain Elem

Smith County · Region 07: Kilgore · 518 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
+1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.9 ptsvs 82.1 average · 1,691 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
70 of 1,691tied with 28 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.1 average for 1,691 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
81%vs 53.4% avg · +27.6 pts
Masters
46%vs 23.3% avg · +22.7 pts

Among 1,633 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
83%vs 47.2% avg · +35.8 pts
Masters
49%vs 19.2% avg · +29.8 pts

Among 1,625 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
78%vs 58.5% avg · +19.5 pts
Masters
41%vs 25.2% avg · +15.8 pts

Among 1,631 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Gus Winston Cain Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.1 average for 1,691 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 70th of 1,691 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 28 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageGus Winston Cain Elem 9392929394 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9482.1 1,691 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9382.4 1,665 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9280.4 1,638 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9281.0 1,617 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9383.6 1,594 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement94 A+12.2 vs similar economic context · 1,633 reporting
  • School Progress93 A+11.3 vs similar economic context · 1,628 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps95 A+15.6 vs similar economic context · 1,614 reporting
  • Academic Growth91 A+15.1 vs similar economic context · 1,598 reporting
  • Relative Performance93 A+13.7 vs similar economic context · 1,628 reporting
  • Gus Winston Cain Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,691 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement94A—
School Progress93A—
Closing the Gaps95A—
Academic Growth91A—
Relative Performance93A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (94), so School Progress (93) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level94%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,633 reporting
  • Meets grade level81%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,633 reporting
  • Masters grade level46%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,633 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,631 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,631 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,631 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,625 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,625 reporting
  • Masters grade level49%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,625 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,511 reporting
  • Meets grade level84%+32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,511 reporting
  • Masters grade level54%+29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,511 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,691 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
518
Economically disadvantaged
49.6%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.6%−7.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
24.7%+6.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.1%−2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Gus Winston Cain Elem

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 17.8%White: 65.6%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 1.5%Two or More Races: 5.2%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 17.8%
  • White 65.6%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Two or More Races 5.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 reporting for every category shown · 1,691 in full cohort

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 40.6%White: 42.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 40.6%
  • White 42.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
518
Economically disadvantaged students
257
Emergent bilingual students
29
Special education students
128

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
32
Students in TEA mobility denominator
406
TEA-published mobility rate
7.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 518 students in 2025–26, an increase of 10 (2.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
518

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+10

Increase · +2.0%

Change since 2021–22
−8

Decrease · −1.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
518
Selected comparison
647.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,653 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Gus Winston Cain Elem
School yearStudents enrolledGus Winston Cain ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 526 First available year 649.4
2022–23 515 Decrease of 11 (2.1%) 653.6
2023–24 523 Increase of 8 (1.6%) 653.6
2024–25 508 Decrease of 15 (2.9%) 650.5
2025–26 518 Increase of 10 (2.0%) 647.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
39

7.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
78

14.72 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
530

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.4%
Selected comparison
12.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,306 rated schools reporting

−4.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
14.72
Selected comparison
26.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,401 rated schools reporting

−12.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Gus Winston Cain Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 553 31 5.6% 66 11.93 9.6% 18.3
2021–22 558 32 5.7% 50 8.96 11.9% 26.1
2022–23 543 41 7.5% 65 11.97 12.4% 28
2023–24 559 40 7.2% 94 16.82 12.3% 28.4
2024–25 530 39 7.4% 78 14.72 12.0% 26.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Gus Winston Cain Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 39 7.4% 78 14.72 12.0% 26.8
In-school suspensions 39 7.4% 76 14.34 10.8% 20.6
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Gus Winston Cain Elem
  • Parent district: Whitehouse ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,588
Selected comparison
$12,010

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting

−$2,422 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,588 per student for this campus, $14,221 per student for its parent district, Whitehouse ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearGus Winston Cain ElemParent district: Whitehouse ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,468$24,241$13,054$7,840 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,536 rated schools reporting
2019$6,952$12,453$13,108$8,023 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,555 rated schools reporting
2020$7,746$10,251$14,058$8,522 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,567 rated schools reporting
2021$8,259$11,525$14,797$8,924 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,585 rated schools reporting
2022$8,911$12,702$15,708$10,265 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,596 rated schools reporting
2023$8,629$12,785$16,792$10,744 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 rated schools reporting
2024$9,330$13,988$18,125$11,523 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,636 rated schools reporting
2025$9,588$14,221$18,972$12,010 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,331−$3,581 vs similar economic context
Teachers
38−4.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.7−6.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Gus Winston Cain Elem

Beginning: 5.3%1 to 5 years: 23.8%6 to 10 years: 30.7%11 to 20 years: 23.8%21 to 30 years: 16.1%
  • Beginning 5.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 30.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 reporting for every category shown · 1,691 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24.3%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29.5%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Gus Winston Cain Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classGus Winston Cain Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1618
Grade 120.318.3
Grade 21818.5
Grade 318.319
Grade 419.619
Grade 51920

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

4 measures

  • 2of 55

    Math — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 55

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 3of 55

    Math — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 3of 48

    Science — Masters

    Smith County · of the 48 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 4of 55

    All Subjects — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 55

    Reading — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 4of 50

    Academic Growth

    Smith County · of the 50 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 48

    Science — Meets

    Smith County · of the 48 that report this measure

  • 5of 55

    Reading — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 5of 48

    Science — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 48 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 55

    All Subjects — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 6of 55

    Math — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 9of 55

    Reading — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

5 measures

  • 45of 1,614

    Closing the Gaps

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,614 that report this measure · tied with 22

  • 60of 1,633

    Student Achievement

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,633 that report this measure · tied with 22

  • 70of 1,691

    Overall score

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,691 that report this measure · tied with 28

  • 82of 1,628

    Relative Performance

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,628 that report this measure · tied with 30

  • 210of 4,533

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 4,533 that report this measure · tied with 81

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 212906111.