Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Fredericksburg MS

Gillespie County · Region 13: Austin · 622 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+7.5 ptsvs 80.5 average · 1,961 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
427 of 1,961tied with 74 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.5 average for 1,961 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 6 points

82 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 7.5 points above the 80.5 average among 1,961 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 12 points

74 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 8.3 points above the 77.7 average among 1,850 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 49.2% avg · +5.8 pts
Masters
30%vs 20.2% avg · +9.8 pts

Among 1,875 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Fredericksburg MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.5 average for 1,961 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 427th of 1,961 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 74 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: Special Education

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
25.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
2.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageFredericksburg MS 8085808288 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8880.5 1,961 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8280.3 1,937 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8078.2 1,917 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8578.8 1,887 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8082.4 1,862 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement84 B+5.2 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • School Progress89 B+7.8 vs similar economic context · 1,868 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps86 B+8.3 vs similar economic context · 1,850 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 1,812 reporting
  • Relative Performance89 B+9.5 vs similar economic context · 1,868 reporting
  • Fredericksburg MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,961 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement84B6
School Progress89B1
Closing the Gaps86B4
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance89B1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (89), so Student Achievement (84) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 89.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
  • Masters grade level35%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,864 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,864 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,864 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,716 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,716 reporting
  • Masters grade level39%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,716 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 946 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 946 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 946 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,961 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
622
Economically disadvantaged
61.5%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
19.5%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.7%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
11.0%−5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Fredericksburg MS

African American: 0.6%Hispanic: 52.5%White: 45.4%Asian: 0.5%Two or More Races: 1%
  • African American 0.6%
  • Hispanic 52.5%
  • White 45.4%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 reporting for every category shown · 1,961 in full cohort

African American: 10.6%Hispanic: 49.2%White: 33.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.6%
  • Hispanic 49.2%
  • White 33.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
621
Economically disadvantaged students
382
Emergent bilingual students
121
Special education students
135

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
66
Students in TEA mobility denominator
659
TEA-published mobility rate
10%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 622 students in 2025–26, no change from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
622

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
0

No change

Change since 2021–22
−55

Decrease · −8.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
622
Selected comparison
624.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,925 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Fredericksburg MS
School yearStudents enrolledFredericksburg MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 677 First available year 637.2
2022–23 684 Increase of 7 (1.0%) 641.8
2023–24 647 Decrease of 37 (5.4%) 639.1
2024–25 622 Decrease of 25 (3.9%) 635.1
2025–26 622 No change 624.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
98

14.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
301

45.68 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
659

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
14.9%
Selected comparison
12.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,497 rated schools reporting

+2.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
45.68
Selected comparison
29.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,620 rated schools reporting

+16.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Fredericksburg MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 715 110 15.4% 289 40.42 9.7% 19.1
2021–22 711 96 13.5% 282 39.66 12.6% 29
2022–23 712 59 8.3% 190 26.69 13.1% 31
2023–24 689 134 19.4% 422 61.25 13.0% 30.8
2024–25 659 98 14.9% 301 45.68 12.7% 29.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Fredericksburg MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 98 14.9% 301 45.68 12.7% 29.2
In-school suspensions 75 11.4% 163 24.73 11.5% 22.5
Out-of-school suspensions 50 7.6% 89 13.51 6.8% 9.9
DAEP placements 36 5.5% 49 7.44 5.0% 5.9
Mandatory DAEP placements 17 2.6% 19 2.88 3.6% 4.1
Discretionary DAEP placements 22 3.3% 30 4.55 2.8% 3.3
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$42k$78k20182020202220242025
  • Fredericksburg MS
  • Parent district: Fredericksburg ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$47,809
Selected comparison
$12,536

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting

+$35,273 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $47,809 per student for this campus, $24,326 per student for its parent district, Fredericksburg ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearFredericksburg MSParent district: Fredericksburg ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,881$12,109$13,054$7,930 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,791 rated schools reporting
2019$7,135$12,452$13,108$8,078 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 rated schools reporting
2020$7,537$12,124$14,058$8,686 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,828 rated schools reporting
2021$7,204$15,454$14,797$9,108 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,843 rated schools reporting
2022$7,733$13,427$15,708$10,474 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 rated schools reporting
2023$16,914$16,995$16,792$11,121 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,887 rated schools reporting
2024$74,071$31,780$18,125$11,952 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 rated schools reporting
2025$47,809$24,326$18,972$12,536 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,215−$1,160 vs similar economic context
Teachers
46+3.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.6−5.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Fredericksburg MS

1 to 5 years: 37.4%6 to 10 years: 21.2%11 to 20 years: 17.1%21 to 30 years: 22.1%Over 30 years: 2.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 37.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 17.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 22.1%
  • Over 30 years 2.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 reporting for every category shown · 1,961 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.1%1 to 5 years: 25.7%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.3%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Fredericksburg MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classFredericksburg MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 616.917.7
Secondary English16.314.9
Secondary languages other than English24.817.3
Secondary math18.915.8
Secondary science21.817.2
Secondary social studies22.917.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 100 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 10

    Per-student spending

    Gillespie County · of the 10 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

3 measures

  • 6of 10

    Overall score

    Gillespie County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Attendance

    Gillespie County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Gillespie County · of the 10 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 086901041.