Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Francisco Barrientes MS

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 1,046 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
−1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 2,138 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
279 of 2,138tied with 58 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 2,138 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 3 points

86 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 89 is 11.2 points above the 77.8 average among 2,138 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 6 points

72 to 78 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 78 is 5.7 points above the 72.3 average among 1,920 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 42.6% avg · +7.4 pts
Masters
24%vs 16.7% avg · +7.3 pts

Among 1,976 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Francisco Barrientes MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 2,138 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 279th of 2,138 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 58 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageFrancisco Barrientes MS 9081828689 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8977.8 2,138 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8677.5 2,126 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8274.9 2,110 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8175.5 2,093 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9081.6 2,075 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B+7.2 vs similar economic context · 1,976 reporting
  • School Progress90 A+11.0 vs similar economic context · 1,970 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps85 B+10.0 vs similar economic context · 1,956 reporting
  • Academic Growth78 C+5.7 vs similar economic context · 1,920 reporting
  • Relative Performance90 A+12.6 vs similar economic context · 1,970 reporting
  • Francisco Barrientes MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,138 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress90A—
Closing the Gaps85B5
Academic Growth78C2
Relative Performance90A—

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 5 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (90), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,965 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,821 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 806 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 806 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 806 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,138 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,046
Economically disadvantaged
79.1%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
29.4%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.1%−6.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.9%−1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
28.0%+7.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Francisco Barrientes MS

African American: 0.3%Hispanic: 98.6%White: 0.9%Asian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.1%
  • African American 0.3%
  • Hispanic 98.6%
  • White 0.9%
  • Asian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,138 reporting for every category shown · 2,138 in full cohort

African American: 14%Hispanic: 66.5%White: 14.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.7%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • African American 14%
  • Hispanic 66.5%
  • White 14.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,046
Economically disadvantaged students
827
Emergent bilingual students
308
Special education students
127

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
142
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,147
TEA-published mobility rate
12.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,046 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 18 (1.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,046

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−18

Decrease · −1.7%

Change since 2021–22
−242

Decrease · −18.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,046
Selected comparison
635.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Francisco Barrientes MS
School yearStudents enrolledFrancisco Barrientes MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,288 First available year 657.7
2022–23 1,215 Decrease of 73 (5.7%) 661.8
2023–24 1,113 Decrease of 102 (8.4%) 657.1
2024–25 1,064 Decrease of 49 (4.4%) 653.4
2025–26 1,046 Decrease of 18 (1.7%) 635.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
269

24.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,077

96.51 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,116

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
24.1%
Selected comparison
13.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,586 rated schools reporting

+10.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
96.51
Selected comparison
32.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,690 rated schools reporting

+63.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Francisco Barrientes MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,412 39 2.8% 86 6.09 8.6% 17
2021–22 1,370 279 20.4% 1,222 89.20 12.9% 31.1
2022–23 1,290 321 24.9% 1,577 122.25 13.7% 34.2
2023–24 1,145 305 26.6% 1,446 126.29 13.7% 34.1
2024–25 1,116 269 24.1% 1,077 96.51 13.4% 32.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Francisco Barrientes MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 269 24.1% 1,077 96.51 13.4% 32.6
In-school suspensions 208 18.6% 630 56.45 11.8% 23.7
Out-of-school suspensions 148 13.3% 354 31.72 8.1% 12.9
DAEP placements 61 5.5% 72 6.45 5.4% 6.5
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Francisco Barrientes MS
  • Parent district: Edinburg CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,635
Selected comparison
$13,054

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,125 rated schools reporting

+$1,581 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,635 per student for this campus, $14,448 per student for its parent district, Edinburg CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearFrancisco Barrientes MSParent district: Edinburg CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,700$11,287$13,054$8,103 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 rated schools reporting
2019$8,817$11,340$13,108$8,237 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 rated schools reporting
2020$8,939$11,404$14,058$8,750 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,046 rated schools reporting
2021$9,745$12,963$14,797$9,385 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 rated schools reporting
2022$10,776$15,174$15,708$10,764 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 rated schools reporting
2023$14,874$15,718$16,792$11,249 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,093 rated schools reporting
2024$15,369$15,340$18,125$12,267 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,110 rated schools reporting
2025$14,635$14,448$18,972$13,054 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,125 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,908+$3,939 vs similar economic context
Teachers
90+46.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.6−2.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Francisco Barrientes MS

1 to 5 years: 17.2%6 to 10 years: 17.6%11 to 20 years: 36.2%21 to 30 years: 23.5%Over 30 years: 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 17.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 36.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 23.5%
  • Over 30 years 5.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,138 reporting for every category shown · 2,138 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Francisco Barrientes MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classFrancisco Barrientes MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 612.417.8
Secondary English1015.3
Secondary languages other than English16.418.2
Secondary math10.616.5
Secondary science13.417.8
Secondary social studies13.617.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 68of 1,821

    Science — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,821 that report this measure · tied with 6

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108904046.