Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem

Zapata County · Region 01: Edinburg · 448 students

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+10.4 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,291 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
378 of 2,291tied with 59 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.6 average for 2,291 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 8 points

80 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 10.4 points above the 77.6 average among 2,291 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 15 points

74 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 89 is 14 points above the 75 average among 2,102 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
49%vs 40.6% avg · +8.4 pts
Masters
31%vs 16.1% avg · +14.9 pts

Among 2,123 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.6 average for 2,291 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 378th of 2,291 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 59 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageFidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem 9469878088 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8877.6 2,291 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8077.2 2,272 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8773.9 2,254 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6973.5 2,244 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9481.8 2,217 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C+7.5 vs similar economic context · 2,123 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+8.2 vs similar economic context · 2,118 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps89 B+14.0 vs similar economic context · 2,102 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+10.0 vs similar economic context · 2,083 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+10.2 vs similar economic context · 2,117 reporting
  • Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,291 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps89B1
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (87), so Student Achievement (78) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 87.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level73%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,123 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,123 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,123 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,122 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,122 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,122 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,114 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,114 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,114 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,291 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
448
Economically disadvantaged
90.8%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
35.1%−4.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.8%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.7%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem

Hispanic: 100%
  • Hispanic 100%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,291 reporting for every category shown · 2,291 in full cohort

African American: 14.8%Hispanic: 75.9%White: 6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 14.8%
  • Hispanic 75.9%
  • White 6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
447
Economically disadvantaged students
406
Emergent bilingual students
157
Special education students
93

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
31
Students in TEA mobility denominator
350
TEA-published mobility rate
8.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 448 students in 2025–26, an increase of 3 (0.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
448

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+3

Increase · +0.7%

Change since 2021–22
+21

Increase · +4.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
448
Selected comparison
575.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,268 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem
School yearStudents enrolledFidel and andrea R Villarreal ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 427 First available year 620.1
2022–23 449 Increase of 22 (5.2%) 616.1
2023–24 463 Increase of 14 (3.1%) 606.7
2024–25 445 Decrease of 18 (3.9%) 600.2
2025–26 448 Increase of 3 (0.7%) 575.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
466

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 509 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 481 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 479 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 492 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 466 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem
  • Parent district: Zapata County ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,662
Selected comparison
$13,188

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting

−$2,526 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,662 per student for this campus, $15,950 per student for its parent district, Zapata County ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearFidel and andrea R Villarreal ElemParent district: Zapata County ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,667$10,878$13,054$8,309 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,161 rated schools reporting
2019$7,302$11,171$13,108$8,322 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,190 rated schools reporting
2020$8,039$10,856$14,058$8,827 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,196 rated schools reporting
2021$8,309$12,855$14,797$9,632 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,200 rated schools reporting
2022$8,958$16,012$15,708$11,179 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 rated schools reporting
2023$9,998$18,250$16,792$11,706 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,243 rated schools reporting
2024$9,596$16,356$18,125$12,588 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,257 rated schools reporting
2025$10,662$15,950$18,972$13,188 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,147−$3,009 vs similar economic context
Teachers
28−12.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16+1.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem

1 to 5 years: 21.4%6 to 10 years: 14.3%11 to 20 years: 32.1%21 to 30 years: 32.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 32.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,291 reporting for every category shown · 2,291 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.2%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Fidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classFidel and andrea R Villarreal Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1918.1
Grade 116.118.3
Grade 22218.3
Grade 31518.5
Grade 415.518.5
Grade 52019.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 84 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

2 measures

  • 40of 2,114

    Math — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,114 that report this measure · tied with 12

  • 78of 2,123

    All Subjects — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,123 that report this measure · tied with 18

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 253901107.