Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Falls City Elem

Karnes County · Region 20: San Antonio · 255 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.7 ptsvs 90.3 average · 705 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
86 of 705tied with 66 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 96 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 90.3 average for 705 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
80%vs 72% avg · +8 pts
Masters
48%vs 41.6% avg · +6.4 pts

Among 693 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
87%vs 68% avg · +19 pts
Masters
52%vs 36.6% avg · +15.4 pts

Among 691 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
83%vs 76.6% avg · +6.4 pts
Masters
54%vs 44.4% avg · +9.6 pts

Among 693 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Falls City Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 90.3 average for 705 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 86th of 705 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 66 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageFalls City Elem 9493929494 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 96 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9490.3 705 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9490.5 699 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9289.4 683 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9389.8 669 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9490.6 654 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement94 A+2.7 vs similar economic context · 693 reporting
  • School Progress92 A+5.5 vs similar economic context · 691 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps94 A+6.2 vs similar economic context · 689 reporting
  • Academic Growth92 A+7.5 vs similar economic context · 687 reporting
  • Relative Performance85 B+6.0 vs similar economic context · 691 reporting
  • Falls City Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (705 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement94A—
School Progress92A—
Closing the Gaps94A—
Academic Growth92A—
Relative Performance85B5

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (94), so School Progress (92) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level94%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Meets grade level80%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Masters grade level48%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Masters grade level54%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level97%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 691 reporting
  • Meets grade level87%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 691 reporting
  • Masters grade level52%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 691 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 651 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 651 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 651 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (705 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
255
Economically disadvantaged
16.9%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
0.8%−10.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.6%−3.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
97.8%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
1.5%−6.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Falls City Elem

Hispanic: 17.7%White: 80.7%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • Hispanic 17.7%
  • White 80.7%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 705 reporting for every category shown · 705 in full cohort

African American: 7%Hispanic: 22.2%White: 48.3%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 16.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.5%
  • African American 7%
  • Hispanic 22.2%
  • White 48.3%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 16.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
254
Economically disadvantaged students
43
Emergent bilingual students
2
Special education students
32

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
10
Students in TEA mobility denominator
202
TEA-published mobility rate
5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 255 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 3 (1.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
255

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−3

Decrease · −1.2%

Change since 2021–22
+8

Increase · +3.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
255
Selected comparison
861.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 701 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Falls City Elem
School yearStudents enrolledFalls City ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 247 First available year 878
2022–23 258 Increase of 11 (4.5%) 892.9
2023–24 249 Decrease of 9 (3.5%) 879
2024–25 258 Increase of 9 (3.6%) 870.9
2025–26 255 Decrease of 3 (1.2%) 861.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
267

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Falls City Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 237 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 255 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 255 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 252 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 267 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Falls City Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$18k$31k20182020202220242025
  • Falls City Elem
  • Parent district: Falls City ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,985
Selected comparison
$11,008

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 699 rated schools reporting

−$2,023 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,985 per student for this campus, $29,908 per student for its parent district, Falls City ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearFalls City ElemParent district: Falls City ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,136$22,561$13,054$7,335 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 610 rated schools reporting
2019$6,585$20,596$13,108$7,431 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 625 rated schools reporting
2020$7,114$23,615$14,058$7,742 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 637 rated schools reporting
2021$6,945$22,319$14,797$8,292 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 645 rated schools reporting
2022$7,126$22,035$15,708$9,531 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 655 rated schools reporting
2023$6,987$21,290$16,792$9,994 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 669 rated schools reporting
2024$7,718$23,714$18,125$10,927 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 684 rated schools reporting
2025$8,985$29,908$18,972$11,008 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 699 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,714−$3,426 vs similar economic context
Teachers
20−35.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13−2.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Falls City Elem

1 to 5 years: 10.3%6 to 10 years: 36.4%11 to 20 years: 20.5%21 to 30 years: 32.3%Over 30 years: 0.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 10.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 36.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 20.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 32.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 705 reporting for every category shown · 705 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.4%1 to 5 years: 23%6 to 10 years: 20.1%11 to 20 years: 32.6%21 to 30 years: 17.1%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 4.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 23%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.1%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Falls City Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classFalls City Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2018.8
Grade 112.219.1
Grade 216.219.7
Grade 317.221.4
Grade 419.120.4
Grade 518.722.1
Grade 612.919.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

12 measures

  • 1of 11

    Overall score

    Karnes County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 1of 11

    Attendance

    Karnes County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 1of 11

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Karnes County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    Student Achievement

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    School Progress

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    Closing the Gaps

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    Academic Growth

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    All Subjects — Masters

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 10

    Reading — Approaches

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 10

    Reading — Masters

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 1of 10

    Math — Approaches

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 10

    Math — Meets

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

5 measures

  • 2of 10

    Relative Performance

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 10

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 2of 10

    All Subjects — Meets

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 2of 10

    Reading — Meets

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 2of 10

    Math — Masters

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 4of 10

    Science — Approaches

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 10

    Science — Meets

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 5of 10

    Science — Masters

    Karnes County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 10of 11

    Per-student spending

    Karnes County · of the 11 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 128904101.