Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

E F Green Junior School

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 1,042 students

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−6.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,502 of 2,036tied with 55 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 81 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.5 average for 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

13.8% −3.5 pts vs 17.3%

  • 13.8% is 3.5 percentage points lower than the 17.3% average among 1,970 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

95.2% +1.2 pts vs 94%

  • 95.2% is 1.2 percentage points above the 94% average among 1,971 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

E F Green Junior School is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.5 average for 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,502nd of 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 55 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
3.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageE F Green Junior School 8283797873 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 81 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7379.5 2,036 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7879.3 2,014 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7977.2 1,999 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8377.8 1,967 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8282.1 1,946 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−4.8 vs similar economic context · 1,922 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−5.5 vs similar economic context · 1,916 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps67 D−9.7 vs similar economic context · 1,899 reporting
  • Academic Growth69 D−4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,855 reporting
  • Relative Performance75 C−3.9 vs similar economic context · 1,916 reporting
  • E F Green Junior School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,036 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps67D3
Academic Growth69D1
Relative Performance75C5

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (75), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 75.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level64%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level60%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level45%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,036 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,042
Economically disadvantaged
68.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
17.7%−1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.4%+3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.8%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

E F Green Junior School

African American: 19.8%Hispanic: 59.3%White: 13%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 4%Pacific Islander: 0.4%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 19.8%
  • Hispanic 59.3%
  • White 13%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting for every category shown · 2,036 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 54.7%White: 27%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 54.7%
  • White 27%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,040
Economically disadvantaged students
707
Emergent bilingual students
184
Special education students
233

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
171
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,193
TEA-published mobility rate
14.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,042 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 53 (4.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,042

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−53

Decrease · −4.8%

Change since 2021–22
+75

Increase · +7.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,042
Selected comparison
638

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,000 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for E F Green Junior School
School yearStudents enrolledE F Green Junior SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 967 First available year 650.5
2022–23 1,020 Increase of 53 (5.5%) 657.1
2023–24 1,051 Increase of 31 (3.0%) 656.6
2024–25 1,095 Increase of 44 (4.2%) 653.6
2025–26 1,042 Decrease of 53 (4.8%) 638

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
231

19.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
507

43.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,159

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
19.9%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,560 rated schools reporting

+7.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
43.74
Selected comparison
30.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,667 rated schools reporting

+13.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for E F Green Junior School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2021–22 1,012 185 18.3% 490 48.42 12.8% 30.2
2022–23 1,080 220 20.4% 658 60.93 13.4% 32.3
2023–24 1,131 233 20.6% 551 48.72 13.3% 32.1
2024–25 1,159 231 19.9% 507 43.74 12.9% 30.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for E F Green Junior School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 231 19.9% 507 43.74 12.9% 30.6
In-school suspensions 181 15.6% 328 28.30 11.6% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions 97 8.4% 149 12.86 7.1% 10.7
DAEP placements 27 2.3% 30 2.59 5.1% 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k202220242025
  • E F Green Junior School
  • Parent district: Goose Creek CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,221
Selected comparison
$13,222

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,013 rated schools reporting

−$6,001 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,221 per student for this campus, $16,348 per student for its parent district, Goose Creek CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearE F Green Junior SchoolParent district: Goose Creek CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2022$6,376$18,829$15,708$10,517 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,946 rated schools reporting
2023$6,446$16,754$16,792$11,232 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 rated schools reporting
2024$7,118$16,470$18,125$12,377 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,998 rated schools reporting
2025$7,221$16,348$18,972$13,222 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,013 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,484+$2,970 vs similar economic context
Teachers
54+10.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
19.2+5.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

E F Green Junior School

Beginning: 9.3%1 to 5 years: 42.6%6 to 10 years: 13%11 to 20 years: 25.9%21 to 30 years: 9.3%
  • Beginning 9.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 42.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 13%
  • 11 to 20 years 25.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting for every category shown · 2,036 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.7%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for E F Green Junior School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classE F Green Junior School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 621.317.9
Secondary English20.115.1
Secondary languages other than English31.217.7
Secondary math20.216
Secondary science27.117.4
Secondary social studies27.117.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101911048.