Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Dawson Elem

Nueces County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 562 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
−5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
398 of 2,010tied with 57 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.5 average for 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 2 points

83 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 8.1 points above the 76.9 average among 1,899 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
57%vs 47.2% avg · +9.8 pts
Masters
31%vs 19.1% avg · +11.9 pts

Among 1,899 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 41.6% avg · +12.4 pts
Masters
30%vs 15.9% avg · +14.1 pts

Among 1,888 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Dawson Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.5 average for 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 398th of 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 57 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageDawson Elem 9384868988 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8879.5 2,010 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8979.3 1,987 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8677.3 1,973 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8477.8 1,940 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9382.1 1,919 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+8.1 vs similar economic context · 1,899 reporting
  • School Progress89 B+8.4 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps84 B+7.2 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth89 B+15.3 vs similar economic context · 1,831 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+9.1 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • Dawson Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,010 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress89B1
Closing the Gaps84B6
Academic Growth89B1
Relative Performance88B2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (89), so Student Achievement (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 89.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level81%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,010 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
562
Economically disadvantaged
67.4%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
8.2%−11.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.6%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.2%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
17.1%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Dawson Elem

African American: 2.9%Hispanic: 83.4%White: 11.8%Asian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 1.8%
  • African American 2.9%
  • Hispanic 83.4%
  • White 11.8%
  • Asian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 reporting for every category shown · 2,010 in full cohort

African American: 12%Hispanic: 54.3%White: 27.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 12%
  • Hispanic 54.3%
  • White 27.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
561
Economically disadvantaged students
378
Emergent bilingual students
46
Special education students
99

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
67
Students in TEA mobility denominator
441
TEA-published mobility rate
15.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 562 students in 2025–26, an increase of 14 (2.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
562

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+14

Increase · +2.6%

Change since 2021–22
+86

Increase · +18.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
562
Selected comparison
639.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Dawson Elem
School yearStudents enrolledDawson ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 476 First available year 650.2
2022–23 480 Increase of 4 (0.8%) 657.8
2023–24 517 Increase of 37 (7.7%) 657.6
2024–25 548 Increase of 31 (6.0%) 654.7
2025–26 562 Increase of 14 (2.6%) 639.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
594

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Dawson Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 562 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 509 15 3.0% 36 7.07 12.8% 30.1
2022–23 517 Suppressed — 10 1.93 — 32.2
2023–24 541 14 2.6% 24 4.44 13.2% 31.9
2024–25 594 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Dawson Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Dawson Elem
  • Parent district: Corpus Christi ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,610
Selected comparison
$13,206

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,986 rated schools reporting

−$4,596 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,610 per student for this campus, $17,521 per student for its parent district, Corpus Christi ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearDawson ElemParent district: Corpus Christi ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,258$12,440$13,054$7,986 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 rated schools reporting
2019$7,456$13,333$13,108$8,149 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 rated schools reporting
2020$8,224$12,530$14,058$8,711 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 rated schools reporting
2021$8,852$13,918$14,797$9,205 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 rated schools reporting
2022$9,028$13,018$15,708$10,493 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 rated schools reporting
2023$13,928$16,350$16,792$11,215 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 rated schools reporting
2024$17,965$17,648$18,125$12,342 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 rated schools reporting
2025$8,610$17,521$18,972$13,206 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,986 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,045−$6,491 vs similar economic context
Teachers
33−9.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.8+2.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Dawson Elem

Beginning: 10.2%1 to 5 years: 26.9%6 to 10 years: 15%11 to 20 years: 26.9%21 to 30 years: 12%Over 30 years: 9%
  • Beginning 10.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 15%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 12%
  • Over 30 years 9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 reporting for every category shown · 2,010 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.6%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.9%21 to 30 years: 15.6%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.6%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Dawson Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classDawson Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten17.718
Grade 118.418.2
Grade 22118.4
Grade 32318.7
Grade 418.819
Grade 519.220

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 6of 80

    Academic Growth

    Nueces County · of the 80 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 178904154.