Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Dalton Elem

Uvalde County · Region 20: San Antonio · 737 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
44/1002025-26
Change
−24 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−33.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
2,335 of 2,339tied with 3 others
F44

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Dalton Elem is rated F by TEA, scoring 44 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 24 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 2,335th of 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).

2 consecutive years rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this school ranks best
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageDalton Elem 6861714844 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26F4477.6 2,339 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25F4877.2 2,320 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7174.0 2,301 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6173.6 2,291 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6881.8 2,264 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 70.5 · 2,164 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 2,159 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 75 · 2,143 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73 · 2,123 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.9 · 2,158 reporting
  • Dalton Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,339 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
737
Economically disadvantaged
90.3%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.4%−35.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.0%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
88.1%−4.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
42.6%+19.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Dalton Elem

African American: 0.3%Hispanic: 89.6%White: 9%Asian: 0.4%Two or More Races: 0.7%
  • African American 0.3%
  • Hispanic 89.6%
  • White 9%
  • Asian 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 0.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,339 reporting for every category shown · 2,339 in full cohort

African American: 14.7%Hispanic: 75.7%White: 6.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 14.7%
  • Hispanic 75.7%
  • White 6.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
732
Economically disadvantaged students
661
Emergent bilingual students
32
Special education students
132

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
39
Students in TEA mobility denominator
401
TEA-published mobility rate
9.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 737 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 78 (9.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
737

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−78

Decrease · −9.6%

Change since 2021–22
+142

Increase · +23.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
737
Selected comparison
578.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,316 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Dalton Elem
School yearStudents enrolledDalton ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 595 First available year 623
2022–23 734 Increase of 139 (23.4%) 619.4
2023–24 779 Increase of 45 (6.1%) 609.6
2024–25 815 Increase of 36 (4.6%) 603
2025–26 737 Decrease of 78 (9.6%) 578.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
16

1.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
21

2.51 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
836

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
1.9%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,447 rated schools reporting

−11.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.51
Selected comparison
31.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,558 rated schools reporting

−29.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Dalton Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 571 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 663 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 788 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 813 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 836 16 1.9% 21 2.51 13.2% 31.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Dalton Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 16 1.9% 21 2.51 13.2% 31.6
In-school suspensions 16 1.9% 21 2.51 11.5% 22.4
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$14k$21k20182020202220242025
  • Dalton Elem
  • Parent district: Uvalde CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,038
Selected comparison
$13,166

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting

−$5,128 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,038 per student for this campus, $14,073 per student for its parent district, Uvalde CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearDalton ElemParent district: Uvalde CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,817$12,136$13,054$8,301 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,205 rated schools reporting
2019$7,498$12,709$13,108$8,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,235 rated schools reporting
2020$7,337$12,540$14,058$8,828 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting
2021$9,579$14,132$14,797$9,637 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,246 rated schools reporting
2022$9,432$16,411$15,708$11,159 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,264 rated schools reporting
2023$8,930$19,952$16,792$11,689 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,290 rated schools reporting
2024$9,032$15,052$18,125$12,562 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,304 rated schools reporting
2025$8,038$14,073$18,972$13,166 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,408−$4,724 vs similar economic context
Teachers
34−6.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
21.4+6.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Dalton Elem

1 to 5 years: 24.3%6 to 10 years: 14.7%11 to 20 years: 37.8%21 to 30 years: 20.5%Over 30 years: 2.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 37.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 20.5%
  • Over 30 years 2.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,339 reporting for every category shown · 2,339 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Dalton Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classDalton Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1818.1
Grade 118.218.3
Grade 220.618.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 20 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 7of 10

    Attendance

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 9of 10

    Per-student spending

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 10of 11

    Overall score

    Uvalde County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 232903102.