Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Dalhart Elem

Dallam County · Region 16: Amarillo · 513 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
69/1002025-26
Change
+6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−8.2 ptsvs 77.2 average · 2,357 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,754 of 2,357tied with 147 others
D69

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 66 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.2 average for 2,357 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

14.4% −7.6 pts vs 22%

  • 14.4% is 7.6 percentage points lower than the 22% average among 2,248 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Dalhart Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 69 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.2 average for 2,357 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,754th of 2,357 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 147 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageDalhart Elem 6378776969 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 66 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6977.2 2,357 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6977.0 2,343 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7774.0 2,327 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7874.3 2,313 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6381.6 2,290 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 71 · 2,190 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.4 · 2,183 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 74.4 · 2,168 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.2 · 2,137 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.6 · 2,183 reporting
  • Dalhart Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,357 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
513
Economically disadvantaged
85.1%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
62.5%+27.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.1%−8.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.0%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.4%−7.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Dalhart Elem

African American: 0.4%Hispanic: 82.3%White: 16.3%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.6%
  • African American 0.4%
  • Hispanic 82.3%
  • White 16.3%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 reporting for every category shown · 2,357 in full cohort

African American: 14.3%Hispanic: 72.5%White: 9.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.1%
  • African American 14.3%
  • Hispanic 72.5%
  • White 9.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
496
Economically disadvantaged students
422
Emergent bilingual students
310
Special education students
50

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
49
Students in TEA mobility denominator
307
TEA-published mobility rate
16%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 513 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 10 (1.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
513

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−10

Decrease · −1.9%

Change since 2021–22
−18

Decrease · −3.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
513
Selected comparison
611.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,326 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Dalhart Elem
School yearStudents enrolledDalhart ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 531 First available year 643.4
2022–23 544 Increase of 13 (2.4%) 641.9
2023–24 509 Decrease of 35 (6.4%) 635.6
2024–25 523 Increase of 14 (2.8%) 632.4
2025–26 513 Decrease of 10 (1.9%) 611.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
560

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Dalhart Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 555 13 2.3% 20 3.60 7.7% 15
2021–22 551 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 569 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 553 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 560 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Dalhart Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$17k$29k20182020202220242025
  • Dalhart Elem
  • Parent district: Dalhart ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$6,229
Selected comparison
$13,260

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,341 rated schools reporting

−$7,031 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $6,229 per student for this campus, $27,784 per student for its parent district, Dalhart ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearDalhart ElemParent district: Dalhart ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,375$10,038$13,054$8,275 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,224 rated schools reporting
2019$6,461$10,097$13,108$8,333 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,253 rated schools reporting
2020$6,581$10,790$14,058$8,857 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,263 rated schools reporting
2021$6,707$11,668$14,797$9,581 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting
2022$5,976$11,413$15,708$11,016 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,290 rated schools reporting
2023$6,062$11,760$16,792$11,538 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,312 rated schools reporting
2024$6,355$16,524$18,125$12,468 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,326 rated schools reporting
2025$6,229$27,784$18,972$13,260 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,341 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$56,680−$10,952 vs similar economic context
Teachers
32−10.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.5+1.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Dalhart Elem

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 31.3%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 21.9%21 to 30 years: 15.6%Over 30 years: 6.3%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.6%
  • Over 30 years 6.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 reporting for every category shown · 2,357 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.1%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Dalhart Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classDalhart Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten23.818.1
Grade 121.118.5
Grade 222.118.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 056901104.