Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Cross Roads JH

Henderson County · Region 07: Kilgore · 112 students

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.9 ptsvs 82.1 average · 1,710 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
214 of 1,710tied with 87 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 92 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.1 average for 1,710 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
70%vs 53.3% avg · +16.7 pts
Masters
34%vs 23.2% avg · +10.8 pts

Among 1,650 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
68%vs 47.1% avg · +20.9 pts
Masters
30%vs 19.2% avg · +10.8 pts

Among 1,642 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
75%vs 58.3% avg · +16.7 pts
Masters
40%vs 25% avg · +15 pts

Among 1,648 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Cross Roads JH is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.1 average for 1,710 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 214th of 1,710 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 87 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCross Roads JH 9393929391 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 92 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9182.1 1,710 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9382.3 1,686 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9280.3 1,658 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9381.0 1,637 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9383.6 1,614 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement91 A+9.2 vs similar economic context · 1,650 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+9.4 vs similar economic context · 1,645 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+12.6 vs similar economic context · 1,630 reporting
  • Academic Growth91 A+15.1 vs similar economic context · 1,611 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,645 reporting
  • Cross Roads JH
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,710 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement91A—
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth91A—
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level92%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,650 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,650 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,650 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 reporting
  • Meets grade level75%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 reporting
  • Masters grade level40%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,642 reporting
  • Meets grade level68%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,642 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,642 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,522 reporting
  • Meets grade level82%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,522 reporting
  • Masters grade level46%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,522 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 849 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 849 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 849 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,710 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
112
Economically disadvantaged
50.0%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.5%−8.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.1%−2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
97.0%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.4%−9.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Cross Roads JH

African American: 6.3%Hispanic: 12.5%White: 77.7%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 6.3%
  • Hispanic 12.5%
  • White 77.7%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,710 reporting for every category shown · 1,710 in full cohort

African American: 9.4%Hispanic: 40.9%White: 41.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.4%
  • Hispanic 40.9%
  • White 41.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
112
Economically disadvantaged students
56
Emergent bilingual students
5
Special education students
18

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
8
Students in TEA mobility denominator
115
TEA-published mobility rate
7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 112 students in 2025–26, an increase of 4 (3.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
112

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+4

Increase · +3.7%

Change since 2021–22
−5

Decrease · −4.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
112
Selected comparison
645.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,671 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Cross Roads JH
School yearStudents enrolledCross Roads JHChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 117 First available year 648.1
2022–23 109 Decrease of 8 (6.8%) 653
2023–24 91 Decrease of 18 (16.5%) 652.6
2024–25 108 Increase of 17 (18.7%) 649
2025–26 112 Increase of 4 (3.7%) 645.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
37

32.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
68

59.13 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
115

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
32.2%
Selected comparison
12.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,324 rated schools reporting

+20.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
59.13
Selected comparison
26.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,419 rated schools reporting

+32.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Cross Roads JH
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 154 43 27.9% 91 59.09 9.6% 18.3
2021–22 130 41 31.5% 73 56.15 11.8% 26.2
2022–23 119 34 28.6% 74 62.18 12.4% 28.1
2023–24 100 36 36.0% 84 84.00 12.3% 28.4
2024–25 115 37 32.2% 68 59.13 12.0% 26.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Cross Roads JH in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 37 32.2% 68 59.13 12.0% 26.8
In-school suspensions 37 32.2% 67 58.26 10.8% 20.6
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Cross Roads JH
  • Parent district: Cross Roads ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,573
Selected comparison
$11,975

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 rated schools reporting

−$402 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,573 per student for this campus, $20,501 per student for its parent district, Cross Roads ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCross Roads JHParent district: Cross Roads ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,517$13,338$13,054$7,837 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,556 rated schools reporting
2019$6,800$13,435$13,108$8,018 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,576 rated schools reporting
2020$7,461$14,250$14,058$8,523 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,588 rated schools reporting
2021$7,694$13,506$14,797$8,936 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,605 rated schools reporting
2022$10,070$18,254$15,708$10,254 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 rated schools reporting
2023$13,159$15,902$16,792$10,711 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,636 rated schools reporting
2024$13,785$16,539$18,125$11,509 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting
2025$11,573$20,501$18,972$11,975 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,380−$6,526 vs similar economic context
Teachers
12−30.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
9.2−10.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Cross Roads JH

Beginning: 0.8%1 to 5 years: 11.5%6 to 10 years: 25.4%11 to 20 years: 43.4%21 to 30 years: 18%
  • Beginning 0.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 11.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 25.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 43.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 18%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,710 reporting for every category shown · 1,710 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24.3%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29.5%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Cross Roads JH in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCross Roads JH · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 614.317.7
Secondary English11.515.1
Secondary math10.816
Secondary science11.717.5
Secondary social studies11.617.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

7 measures

  • 1of 28

    Attendance

    Henderson County · of the 28 that report this measure

  • 1of 28

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Henderson County · of the 28 that report this measure

  • 1of 27

    Closing the Gaps

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 1of 27

    Reading — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 1of 27

    Reading — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 1of 27

    Reading — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 1of 23

    Science — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 23 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

10 measures

  • 2of 27

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 2of 27

    All Subjects — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 2of 27

    All Subjects — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 2of 27

    Math — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 2of 25

    Academic Growth

    Henderson County · of the 25 that report this measure

  • 2of 23

    Science — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 23 that report this measure

  • 3of 27

    Student Achievement

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 27

    School Progress

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 3of 27

    Relative Performance

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 3of 27

    Math — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

7 measures

  • 4of 28

    Overall score

    Henderson County · of the 28 that report this measure

  • 4of 27

    Math — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 5of 23

    Science — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 23 that report this measure

  • 5of 14

    Social Studies — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Social Studies — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 9of 28

    Per-student spending

    Henderson County · of the 28 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 107904041.