Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Cross Roads Elem

Henderson County · Region 07: Kilgore · 288 students

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.0 ptsvs 80 average · 2,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
713 of 2,000tied with 82 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80 average for 2,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 9 points

78 to 87 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 87 is 7.9 points above the 79.1 average among 1,889 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 48.2% avg · +10.8 pts
Masters
27%vs 19.6% avg · +7.4 pts

Among 1,897 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
69%vs 42.4% avg · +26.6 pts
Masters
28%vs 16.3% avg · +11.7 pts

Among 1,884 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Cross Roads Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80 average for 2,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 713th of 2,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCross Roads Elem 9377698584 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8480.0 2,000 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8579.7 1,976 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6977.8 1,956 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7778.3 1,923 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9382.2 1,899 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+7.1 vs similar economic context · 1,897 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+6.2 vs similar economic context · 1,889 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps76 C−1.2 vs similar economic context · 1,870 reporting
  • Academic Growth86 B+12.1 vs similar economic context · 1,832 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+7.9 vs similar economic context · 1,889 reporting
  • Cross Roads Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,000 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps76C4
Academic Growth86B4
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (87), so Student Achievement (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 87.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level83%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,884 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,736 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,736 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,736 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,000 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
288
Economically disadvantaged
64.1%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.2%−12.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.7%−2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
14.2%−2.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Cross Roads Elem

African American: 4.9%Hispanic: 15.3%White: 77.4%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 4.9%
  • Hispanic 15.3%
  • White 77.4%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,000 reporting for every category shown · 2,000 in full cohort

African American: 11.1%Hispanic: 51.2%White: 31.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.1%
  • Hispanic 51.2%
  • White 31.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
287
Economically disadvantaged students
184
Emergent bilingual students
15
Special education students
48

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
17
Students in TEA mobility denominator
215
TEA-published mobility rate
7.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 288 students in 2025–26, no change from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
288

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
0

No change

Change since 2021–22
+34

Increase · +13.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
288
Selected comparison
621.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Cross Roads Elem
School yearStudents enrolledCross Roads ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 254 First available year 636
2022–23 266 Increase of 12 (4.7%) 642.5
2023–24 277 Increase of 11 (4.1%) 639.1
2024–25 288 Increase of 11 (4.0%) 634.5
2025–26 288 No change 621.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
19

6.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
25

8.14 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
307

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.2%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,536 rated schools reporting

−6.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
8.14
Selected comparison
30.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,654 rated schools reporting

−22.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Cross Roads Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 268 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 282 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 294 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 288 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 307 19 6.2% 25 8.14 12.9% 30.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Cross Roads Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 19 6.2% 25 8.14 12.9% 30.1
In-school suspensions 19 6.2% 25 8.14 11.5% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$22k20182020202220242025
  • Cross Roads Elem
  • Parent district: Cross Roads ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,695
Selected comparison
$12,657

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 rated schools reporting

−$2,962 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,695 per student for this campus, $20,501 per student for its parent district, Cross Roads ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCross Roads ElemParent district: Cross Roads ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,209$13,338$13,054$7,919 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,827 rated schools reporting
2019$7,430$13,435$13,108$8,077 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,843 rated schools reporting
2020$7,965$14,250$14,058$8,661 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,866 rated schools reporting
2021$6,040$13,506$14,797$9,089 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 rated schools reporting
2022$8,287$18,254$15,708$10,429 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 rated schools reporting
2023$7,352$15,902$16,792$11,140 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,923 rated schools reporting
2024$7,698$16,539$18,125$12,058 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 rated schools reporting
2025$9,695$20,501$18,972$12,657 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,972 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$58,355−$8,019 vs similar economic context
Teachers
20−22.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4+0.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Cross Roads Elem

Beginning: 5%1 to 5 years: 10%6 to 10 years: 25%11 to 20 years: 25%21 to 30 years: 30%Over 30 years: 5%
  • Beginning 5%
  • 1 to 5 years 10%
  • 6 to 10 years 25%
  • 11 to 20 years 25%
  • 21 to 30 years 30%
  • Over 30 years 5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,000 reporting for every category shown · 2,000 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 26.3%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28%21 to 30 years: 15.9%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.9%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Cross Roads Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCross Roads Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten15.718
Grade 12018.2
Grade 221.818.4
Grade 318.318.6
Grade 418.419
Grade 522.619.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 27

    Math — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

2 measures

  • 3of 27

    Reading — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 3of 27

    Math — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 4of 27

    All Subjects — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 4of 25

    Academic Growth

    Henderson County · of the 25 that report this measure

  • 5of 27

    Math — Masters

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 7of 27

    Student Achievement

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 7of 27

    Relative Performance

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 27

    All Subjects — Meets

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 8of 27

    School Progress

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 27

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Henderson County · of the 27 that report this measure

  • 9of 28

    Overall score

    Henderson County · of the 28 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 107904101.