Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Colmesneil Elem

Tyler County · Region 05: Beaumont · 208 students

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
+22 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+6.6 ptsvs 79.4 average · 2,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
524 of 2,030tied with 83 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 64 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.4 average for 2,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 23 points

63 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 6.6 points above the 79.4 average among 2,030 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 28 points

58 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 12.5 points above the 73.5 average among 1,849 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
53%vs 51.6% avg · +1.4 pts
Masters
22%vs 20.5% avg · +1.5 pts

Among 1,914 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Colmesneil Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.4 average for 2,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 22 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 524th of 2,030 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 83 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Progress

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 2 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
3.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageColmesneil Elem 6475736386 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 64 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8679.4 2,030 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6379.2 2,009 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7377.1 1,994 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7577.6 1,962 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6482.1 1,942 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement74 C−2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,916 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+5.5 vs similar economic context · 1,910 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps85 B+8.3 vs similar economic context · 1,895 reporting
  • Academic Growth86 B+12.5 vs similar economic context · 1,849 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 1,910 reporting
  • Colmesneil Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,030 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement74C6
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps85B5
Academic Growth86B4
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (74) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,916 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,916 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,916 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
  • Meets grade level30%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,763 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,030 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
208
Economically disadvantaged
68.3%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
0.0%−19.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.3%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.8%−6.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Colmesneil Elem

African American: 0.5%Hispanic: 4.8%White: 87.5%American Indian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.5%Two or More Races: 5.3%
  • African American 0.5%
  • Hispanic 4.8%
  • White 87.5%
  • American Indian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 5.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 reporting for every category shown · 2,030 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 55.1%White: 26.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 55.1%
  • White 26.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
208
Economically disadvantaged students
142
Emergent bilingual students
0
Special education students
38

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
19
Students in TEA mobility denominator
187
TEA-published mobility rate
10.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 208 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 12 (5.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
208

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−12

Decrease · −5.5%

Change since 2021–22
−56

Decrease · −21.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
208
Selected comparison
639.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Colmesneil Elem
School yearStudents enrolledColmesneil ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 264 First available year 651.7
2022–23 258 Decrease of 6 (2.3%) 658.4
2023–24 221 Decrease of 37 (14.3%) 657.3
2024–25 220 Decrease of 1 (0.5%) 654.8
2025–26 208 Decrease of 12 (5.5%) 639.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
37

15.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
77

32.91 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
234

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
15.8%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,555 rated schools reporting

+2.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
32.91
Selected comparison
30.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting

+2.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Colmesneil Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 297 13 4.4% 22 7.41 9.7% 19.3
2021–22 293 40 13.7% 83 28.33 12.8% 30.2
2022–23 281 59 21.0% 93 33.10 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 245 41 16.7% 68 27.76 13.3% 32.2
2024–25 234 37 15.8% 77 32.91 12.9% 30.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Colmesneil Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 37 15.8% 77 32.91 12.9% 30.6
In-school suspensions 36 15.4% 69 29.49 11.6% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$4k$12k$21k20182020202220242025
  • Colmesneil Elem
  • Parent district: Colmesneil ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,073
Selected comparison
$13,204

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

−$4,131 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,073 per student for this campus, $19,769 per student for its parent district, Colmesneil ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearColmesneil ElemParent district: Colmesneil ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$4,030$8,836$13,054$7,998 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,869 rated schools reporting
2019$4,094$9,874$13,108$8,163 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 rated schools reporting
2020$5,033$10,881$14,058$8,705 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 rated schools reporting
2021$6,053$12,830$14,797$9,208 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 rated schools reporting
2022$6,052$13,856$15,708$10,509 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 rated schools reporting
2023$7,185$13,597$16,792$11,216 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,964 rated schools reporting
2024$8,361$18,301$18,125$12,368 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,993 rated schools reporting
2025$9,073$19,769$18,972$13,204 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,794+$5,293 vs similar economic context
Teachers
16−27.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.8−1.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Colmesneil Elem

Beginning: 11.1%1 to 5 years: 16%11 to 20 years: 49.4%21 to 30 years: 17.9%Over 30 years: 5.6%
  • Beginning 11.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 16%
  • 11 to 20 years 49.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.9%
  • Over 30 years 5.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 reporting for every category shown · 2,030 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.7%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Colmesneil Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classColmesneil Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten13.617.9
Grade 11318.2
Grade 215.518.4
Grade 318.918.6
Grade 415.518.9
Grade 516.519.9
Grade 62117.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

3 measures

  • 1of 13

    School Progress

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 1of 13

    Academic Growth

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 1of 13

    Reading — Approaches

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

3 measures

  • 2of 13

    Reading — Masters

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 3of 13

    Overall score

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 3of 13

    Closing the Gaps

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

12 measures

  • 4of 13

    Relative Performance

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 13

    All Subjects — Masters

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 13

    Reading — Meets

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 13

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 13

    All Subjects — Meets

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 13

    Math — Meets

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 5of 13

    Math — Masters

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 6of 13

    Student Achievement

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 13

    Math — Approaches

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 6of 13

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Science — Meets

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Attendance

    Tyler County · of the 13 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 229901101.