Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Colbert Elem

Liberty County · Region 04: Houston · 265 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.3 ptsvs 78.7 average · 2,085 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,065 of 2,085tied with 83 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 79 in 2021-22. The current score is level with the 78.7 average for 2,085 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Colbert Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 78.7 average for 2,085 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,065th of 2,085 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 83 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Discipline and removal from class
  7. Spending per student
  8. Teachers
  9. Where this school ranks best
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageColbert Elem 8579767379 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 79 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7978.7 2,085 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7378.3 2,068 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7676.2 2,056 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7976.6 2,030 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8581.8 2,015 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 74.8 · 1,947 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 79.8 · 1,941 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 75.9 · 1,926 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 72.8 · 1,880 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 78.2 · 1,941 reporting
  • Colbert Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,085 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
265
Economically disadvantaged
74.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
29.4%+6.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.4%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
—
Chronically absent
—

Student demographics

Colbert Elem

African American: 7.2%Hispanic: 54%White: 35.5%Asian: 0.4%Two or More Races: 3%
  • African American 7.2%
  • Hispanic 54%
  • White 35.5%
  • Asian 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,085 reporting for every category shown · 2,085 in full cohort

African American: 12.9%Hispanic: 60.8%White: 20.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.2%
  • African American 12.9%
  • Hispanic 60.8%
  • White 20.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
265
Economically disadvantaged students
196
Emergent bilingual students
78
Special education students
46

TEA context labels

  • Highest grade is early education, pre-K or kindergarten

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
Not reported
Students in TEA mobility denominator
Not reported
TEA-published mobility rate
Not reported

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
268

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Colbert Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 237 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 259 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 282 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 265 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 268 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Colbert Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$12k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Colbert Elem
  • Parent district: Dayton ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,353
Selected comparison
$13,154

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 rated schools reporting

−$3,801 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,353 per student for this campus, $13,680 per student for its parent district, Dayton ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearColbert ElemParent district: Dayton ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,491$10,617$13,054$8,047 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 rated schools reporting
2019$6,002$10,935$13,108$8,188 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 rated schools reporting
2020$5,845$10,885$14,058$8,731 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,983 rated schools reporting
2021$8,611$11,709$14,797$9,278 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,995 rated schools reporting
2022$10,508$12,717$15,708$10,603 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,015 rated schools reporting
2023$11,890$13,418$16,792$11,191 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,030 rated schools reporting
2024$8,985$13,857$18,125$12,334 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,054 rated schools reporting
2025$9,353$13,680$18,972$13,154 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$66,329−$271 vs similar economic context
Teachers
16−27.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.9+2.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Colbert Elem

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 49.7%6 to 10 years: 12.7%11 to 20 years: 12.7%21 to 30 years: 12.7%Over 30 years: 6.4%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 49.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 12.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 12.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 12.7%
  • Over 30 years 6.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,085 reporting for every category shown · 2,085 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 27.3%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Where this school ranks best

Out of 10 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 7of 32

    Overall score

    Liberty County · of the 32 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 146902102.