+12.4 ptsvs 79.6 average · 2,024 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
155 of 2,024tied with 38 others
Score vs region
+8.1 ptsvs 83.9 average · 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso
Region 19: El Paso placement
16 of 207tied with 17 others
Score vs county
+7.9 ptsvs 84.1 average · 203 rated schools in El Paso County
El Paso County placement
15 of 203tied with 17 others
Score vs similar-size group
+9.6 ptsvs 82.4 average · 2,062 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
250 of 2,062tied with 110 others
Score vs state
+10.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
838 of 7,646tied with 318 others
A92
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 93 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.6 average for 2,024 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 83.9 average for 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso.The current score is above the 84.1 average for 203 rated schools in El Paso County.The current score is above the 82.4 average for 2,062 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
65%vs 47.2% avg · +17.8 pts
Masters
32%vs 19.1% avg · +12.9 pts
Among 1,911 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Col John O Ensor MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.6 average for 2,024 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 155th of 2,024 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 38 others).
Col John O Ensor MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.9 average for 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 16th of 207 rated schools in Region 19: El Paso (tied with 17 others).
Col John O Ensor MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 84.1 average for 203 rated schools in El Paso County. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 15th of 203 rated schools in El Paso County (tied with 17 others).
Col John O Ensor MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.4 average for 2,062 similarly sized rated schools. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Ranks 250th of 2,062 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 110 others).
Col John O Ensor MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 93 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement91 A+14.1 vs similar economic context · 1,911 reporting
School Progress92 A+11.4 vs similar economic context · 1,904 reporting
Closing the Gaps93 A+16.1 vs similar economic context · 1,887 reporting
Academic Growth88 B+14.3 vs similar economic context · 1,843 reporting
Relative Performance92 A+13.0 vs similar economic context · 1,904 reporting
Col John O Ensor MS
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,024 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
91
A
—
School Progress
92
A
—
Closing the Gaps
93
A
—
Academic Growth
88
B
2
Relative Performance
92
A
—
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (92), so
Student Achievement (91) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level88%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Meets grade level65%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Masters grade level32%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level91%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Meets grade level72%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Masters grade level39%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level91%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
Meets grade level64%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
Masters grade level27%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level86%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
Meets grade level66%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
Masters grade level36%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level75%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 908 reporting
Meets grade level44%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 908 reporting
Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 908 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,024 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
1,115
Economically disadvantaged
67.5%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
18.4%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.7%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.7%−6.5 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Col John O Ensor MS
African American 2.3%
Hispanic 90.9%
White 5.4%
Asian 0.5%
Two or More Races 0.8%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 reporting for every category shown · 2,024 in full cohort
African American 12%
Hispanic 54.4%
White 27.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 2.2%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 19: El Paso · 207 reporting for every category shown · 207 in full cohort
African American 1.9%
Hispanic 91.2%
White 4.8%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 0.6%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 1.1%
Selected comparison averageFor El Paso County · 203 reporting for every category shown · 203 in full cohort
African American 2%
Hispanic 91.3%
White 4.7%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 0.6%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 1.1%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,062 reporting for every category shown · 2,062 in full cohort
African American 12.7%
Hispanic 51.1%
White 24.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 7.2%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.8%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,115
Economically disadvantaged students
753
Emergent bilingual students
205
Special education students
208
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
95
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,132
TEA-published mobility rate
8.4%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 1,115 students in 2025–26, an increase of 45 (4.2%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
1,115
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
+45
Increase · +4.2%
Change since 2021–22
−98
Decrease · −8.1%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
1,115
Selected comparison
638.2
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,989 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Col John O Ensor MS
School year
Students enrolledCol John O Ensor MS
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
1,213
First available year
650
2022–23
1,173
Decrease of 40 (3.3%)
657.3
2023–24
1,021
Decrease of 152 (13.0%)
657
2024–25
1,070
Increase of 49 (4.8%)
654
2025–26
1,115
Increase of 45 (4.2%)
638.2
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
132
11.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment
Disciplinary actions
333
29.73 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,120
2024–25
Share of students · 2024–25
This school
11.8%
Selected comparison
12.8%
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 rated schools reporting
−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
29.73
Selected comparison
30.3
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting
−0.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Col John O Ensor MS
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
1,230
Suppressed
—
17
1.38
—
19.2
2021–22
1,257
155
12.3%
326
25.93
12.7%
30
2022–23
1,203
213
17.7%
636
52.87
13.3%
32.1
2023–24
1,064
166
15.6%
481
45.21
13.2%
31.9
2024–25
1,120
132
11.8%
333
29.73
12.8%
30.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Col John O Ensor MS in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
132
11.8%
333
29.73
12.8%
30.3
In-school suspensions
131
11.7%
253
22.59
11.5%
23
Out-of-school suspensions
57
5.1%
76
6.79
7.1%
10.7
DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Col John O Ensor MS
Parent district: Socorro ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$8,369
Selected comparison
$13,196
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting
−$4,827 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $8,369 per student for this campus, $12,991 per student for its parent district, Socorro ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Col John O Ensor MS
Parent district: Socorro ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$7,300
$10,949
$13,054
$7,991
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,860 rated schools reporting
2019
$7,361
$11,576
$13,108
$8,150
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 rated schools reporting
2020
$7,332
$12,325
$14,058
$8,709
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 rated schools reporting
2021
$7,194
$15,614
$14,797
$9,202
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,909 rated schools reporting
2022
$7,706
$15,032
$15,708
$10,483
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,932 rated schools reporting
2023
$8,375
$14,870
$16,792
$11,210
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,955 rated schools reporting
2024
$8,923
$14,957
$18,125
$12,332
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2025
$8,369
$12,991
$18,972
$13,196
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$68,949+$2,398 vs similar economic context
Teachers
61+17.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
18.3+4.4 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Col John O Ensor MS
Beginning 1.6%
1 to 5 years 9.8%
6 to 10 years 34.4%
11 to 20 years 39.3%
21 to 30 years 13.1%
Over 30 years 1.6%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 reporting for every category shown · 2,024 in full cohort
Beginning 6.3%
1 to 5 years 26.6%
6 to 10 years 19.1%
11 to 20 years 27.9%
21 to 30 years 15.6%
Over 30 years 3.9%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 19: El Paso · 207 reporting for every category shown · 207 in full cohort
Beginning 4.4%
1 to 5 years 18.9%
6 to 10 years 18.5%
11 to 20 years 34%
21 to 30 years 21.5%
Over 30 years 2.7%
Selected comparison averageFor El Paso County · 203 reporting for every category shown · 203 in full cohort
Beginning 3.9%
1 to 5 years 18.8%
6 to 10 years 18.5%
11 to 20 years 34.4%
21 to 30 years 21.7%
Over 30 years 2.7%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 2,062 reporting for every category shown · 2,062 in full cohort
Beginning 6.4%
1 to 5 years 27.2%
6 to 10 years 20.5%
11 to 20 years 28.8%
21 to 30 years 14.2%
Over 30 years 2.7%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Col John O Ensor MS in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classCol John O Ensor MS · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 6
23.2
17.9
Secondary English
20.6
15.1
Secondary languages other than English
25.9
17.7
Secondary math
21.8
16
Secondary science
29.5
17.4
Secondary social studies
23.5
17.3
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
5 measures
73of 1,900
Math — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,900 that report this measure · tied with 23
75of 1,908
Reading — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,908 that report this measure · tied with 11
90of 1,908
Reading — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,908 that report this measure · tied with 14
94of 1,887
Closing the Gaps
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,887 that report this measure · tied with 27
102of 1,843
Academic Growth
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,843 that report this measure · tied with 21
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 071909046.