Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Clarendon HS

Donley County · Region 16: Amarillo · 114 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
87/1002025-26
Change
+6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.7 ptsvs 85.3 average · 1,247 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
557 of 1,247tied with 79 others
B87

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 85.3 average for 1,247 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 5 points

85 to 90 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 90 is 4.1 points above the 85.9 average among 1,213 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Top placement

Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

12.5% Tied for 3rd of 357 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 2 share this value

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Clarendon HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.3 average for 1,247 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 557th of 1,247 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 79 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageClarendon HS 8189838287 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8785.3 1,247 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8285.4 1,222 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8383.8 1,205 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8984.2 1,191 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8186.0 1,174 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+4.1 vs similar economic context · 1,213 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+0.9 vs similar economic context · 1,210 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C−3.7 vs similar economic context · 1,200 reporting
  • Academic Growth58 F−20.7 vs similar economic context · 1,189 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.3 vs similar economic context · 1,210 reporting
  • Clarendon HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,247 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth58F2
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (90), so School Progress (84) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level87%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,213 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,213 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,213 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,212 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,212 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,212 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,209 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,209 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,209 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level95%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Meets grade level75%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,112 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level100%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 639 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 639 reporting
  • Masters grade level57%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 639 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,247 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+7.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
97.1%+4.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 355 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+8.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
88.0%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria88.0%89.0%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course40.6%62.7%−22.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA40.6%37.8%+2.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%16.1%−16.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course53.1%37.1%+16.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification28.1%36.1%−8.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.0%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree18.8%4.3%+14.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%5.9%−5.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness12.5%2.7%+9.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student21.9%7.1%+14.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%3.2%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
33

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
21

63.6% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
12

36.4% of graduates

Not trackable
0

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
33
Selected comparison
258.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
21
Selected comparison
122.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
63.6%
Selected comparison
48.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting

+14.9 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
36.4%
Selected comparison
46.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting

−9.7 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
0.0%
Selected comparison
5.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 309 rated schools reporting

−5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. CLARENDON COLLEGE (003554)9
  2. WEST TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003665)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
114
Economically disadvantaged
36.8%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
0.0%−10.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.8%−2.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.7%−2.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.8%+12.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Clarendon HS

African American: 3.5%Hispanic: 21.1%White: 71.9%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 3.5%
  • Hispanic 21.1%
  • White 71.9%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,247 reporting for every category shown · 1,247 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 33.4%White: 47%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.6%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 33.4%
  • White 47%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
114
Economically disadvantaged students
42
Emergent bilingual students
0
Special education students
18

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
20
Students in TEA mobility denominator
141
TEA-published mobility rate
14.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 114 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 14 (10.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
114

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−14

Decrease · −10.9%

Change since 2021–22
−29

Decrease · −20.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
114
Selected comparison
738

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,220 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Clarendon HS
School yearStudents enrolledClarendon HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 143 First available year 749.8
2022–23 131 Decrease of 12 (8.4%) 751
2023–24 138 Increase of 7 (5.3%) 750.8
2024–25 128 Decrease of 10 (7.2%) 746.1
2025–26 114 Decrease of 14 (10.9%) 738

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
12

8.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
15

10.64 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
141

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
8.5%
Selected comparison
10.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 968 rated schools reporting

−1.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
10.64
Selected comparison
22

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,049 rated schools reporting

−11.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Clarendon HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 145 19 13.1% 30 20.69 8.4% 15.8
2021–22 155 13 8.4% 15 9.68 10.4% 22
2022–23 143 10 7.0% 11 7.69 10.9% 23.3
2023–24 146 11 7.5% 14 9.59 10.6% 23.4
2024–25 141 12 8.5% 15 10.64 10.2% 22
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Clarendon HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 12 8.5% 15 10.64 10.2% 22
In-school suspensions 10 7.1% 10 7.09 9.2% 16.9
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Clarendon HS
  • Parent district: Clarendon ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$16,750
Selected comparison
$11,883

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,222 rated schools reporting

+$4,867 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $16,750 per student for this campus, $17,552 per student for its parent district, Clarendon ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearClarendon HSParent district: Clarendon ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$13,546$11,754$13,054$7,694 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,115 rated schools reporting
2019$12,927$12,782$13,108$7,826 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,132 rated schools reporting
2020$15,111$13,624$14,058$8,158 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,138 rated schools reporting
2021$14,092$14,278$14,797$8,633 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,156 rated schools reporting
2022$13,641$14,326$15,708$9,808 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,173 rated schools reporting
2023$15,174$16,268$16,792$10,405 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,192 rated schools reporting
2024$15,135$17,898$18,125$11,650 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,205 rated schools reporting
2025$16,750$17,552$18,972$11,883 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,222 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$49,438−$18,238 vs similar economic context
Teachers
17−32.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
6.9−7.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Clarendon HS

Beginning: 8.5%1 to 5 years: 32.7%6 to 10 years: 14.5%11 to 20 years: 28.5%21 to 30 years: 15.8%
  • Beginning 8.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 32.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,247 reporting for every category shown · 1,247 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.2%1 to 5 years: 23%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 31.4%21 to 30 years: 17.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 23%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Clarendon HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classClarendon HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English5.516.1
Secondary languages other than English5.118.4
Secondary math11.217.1
Secondary science15.618.6
Secondary social studies5.618.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

4 measures

  • 2of 103

    Social Studies — Meets

    Region 16: Amarillo · of the 103 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 103

    Social Studies — Masters

    Region 16: Amarillo · of the 103 that report this measure

  • 3of 357

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 357 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 65

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Region 16: Amarillo · of the 65 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 4of 65

    Earned an associate degree

    Region 16: Amarillo · of the 65 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 065901001.