Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Celia Hays Elem

Rockwall County · Region 10: Richardson · 546 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
−1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.4 ptsvs 91.4 average · 579 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
334 of 579tied with 62 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 93 in 2021-22. The current score is level with the 91.4 average for 579 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

School Progress above the similar-context average

91 +3.4 pts vs 87.6

  • 91 is 3.4 points above the 87.6 average among 568 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

91 +5 pts vs 86

  • 91 is 5 points above the 86 average among 566 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

2.7% −3.9 pts vs 6.6%

  • 2.7% is 3.9 percentage points lower than the 6.6% average among 565 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Celia Hays Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 91.4 average for 579 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 334th of 579 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 62 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCelia Hays Elem 9293919291 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 93 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9191.4 579 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9291.7 569 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9190.9 555 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9391.3 540 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9291.8 530 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A−0.5 vs similar economic context · 570 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+3.4 vs similar economic context · 568 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B−0.9 vs similar economic context · 567 reporting
  • Academic Growth91 A+5.0 vs similar economic context · 566 reporting
  • Relative Performance76 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 568 reporting
  • Celia Hays Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (579 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth91A—
Relative Performance76C4

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (91) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level90%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
  • Masters grade level43%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
  • Masters grade level45%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 570 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 568 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 568 reporting
  • Masters grade level43%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 568 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 532 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 532 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 532 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (579 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
546
Economically disadvantaged
10.4%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
7.8%−2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.0%+4.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.2%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
2.7%−3.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Celia Hays Elem

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 14.6%White: 57.4%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 9.8%Two or More Races: 5.6%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 14.6%
  • White 57.4%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 9.8%
  • Two or More Races 5.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 579 reporting for every category shown · 579 in full cohort

African American: 5.5%Hispanic: 18.4%White: 48.5%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 21.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.7%
  • African American 5.5%
  • Hispanic 18.4%
  • White 48.5%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 21.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
540
Economically disadvantaged students
56
Emergent bilingual students
42
Special education students
108

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
24
Students in TEA mobility denominator
516
TEA-published mobility rate
4.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 546 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 67 (10.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
546

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−67

Decrease · −10.9%

Change since 2021–22
+57

Increase · +11.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
546
Selected comparison
869.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 574 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Celia Hays Elem
School yearStudents enrolledCelia Hays ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 489 First available year 878.5
2022–23 517 Increase of 28 (5.7%) 899.6
2023–24 585 Increase of 68 (13.2%) 887.7
2024–25 613 Increase of 28 (4.8%) 880
2025–26 546 Decrease of 67 (10.9%) 869.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
11

1.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
632

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
1.74
Selected comparison
8.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 399 rated schools reporting

−7.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Celia Hays Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 470 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 511 Suppressed — 16 3.13 — 8.7
2022–23 547 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 605 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 632 Suppressed — 11 1.74 — 8.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Celia Hays Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 11 1.74 — 8.8
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Celia Hays Elem
  • Parent district: Rockwall ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,237
Selected comparison
$10,750

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 568 rated schools reporting

−$2,513 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,237 per student for this campus, $22,334 per student for its parent district, Rockwall ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCelia Hays ElemParent district: Rockwall ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,357$15,108$13,054$7,236 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 483 rated schools reporting
2019$6,893$13,589$13,108$7,309 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
2020$6,297$13,339$14,058$7,641 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 508 rated schools reporting
2021$9,322$14,484$14,797$8,236 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 519 rated schools reporting
2022$8,341$12,862$15,708$9,405 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 530 rated schools reporting
2023$8,346$18,988$16,792$9,529 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 539 rated schools reporting
2024$8,324$25,294$18,125$10,416 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 555 rated schools reporting
2025$8,237$22,334$18,972$10,750 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 568 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,651+$270 vs similar economic context
Teachers
36−20.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15+0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Celia Hays Elem

Beginning: 3.9%1 to 5 years: 19.4%6 to 10 years: 14.7%11 to 20 years: 50.7%21 to 30 years: 11.1%
  • Beginning 3.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 50.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 11.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 579 reporting for every category shown · 579 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.3%1 to 5 years: 23.6%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 32%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 4.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 32%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Celia Hays Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classCelia Hays Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten15.418.9
Grade 119.819.1
Grade 218.219.6
Grade 319.921.4
Grade 417.720.3
Grade 519.122.3
Grade 627.119.2
Secondary math618.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 8 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

2 measures

  • 1of 34

    Math — Masters

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 1of 31

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Rockwall County · of the 31 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

6 measures

  • 2of 31

    Attendance

    Rockwall County · of the 31 that report this measure

  • 3of 34

    All Subjects — Masters

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 3of 34

    Reading — Meets

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 34

    Math — Approaches

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 3of 34

    Math — Meets

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 3of 33

    Academic Growth

    Rockwall County · of the 33 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

6 measures

  • 4of 34

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 34

    All Subjects — Meets

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 33

    School Progress

    Rockwall County · of the 33 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 34

    Student Achievement

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 34

    Science — Masters

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 9of 34

    Reading — Masters

    Rockwall County · of the 34 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 199901112.