Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Calvin Vincent PK Head Start

Galveston County · Region 04: Houston · 318 students

Current score
92/1002025-26
Change
+19 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+14.2 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
43 of 1,200tied with 19 others
A92

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.8 average for 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

92 +14.2 pts vs 77.8

  • 92 is 14.2 points above the 77.8 average among 1,200 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Calvin Vincent PK Head Start is rated A by TEA, scoring 92 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.8 average for 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 19 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 43rd of 1,200 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 19 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers
  10. Where this school ranks best
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageCalvin Vincent PK Head Start 7369909292 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9277.8 1,200 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9277.4 1,186 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9073.7 1,174 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6972.6 1,172 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7381.8 1,162 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 69.8 · 1,112 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.9 · 1,111 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 75.3 · 1,104 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.7 · 1,096 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.6 · 1,110 reporting
  • Calvin Vincent PK Head Start
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,200 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
318
Economically disadvantaged
100.0%+5.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
24.1%−20.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.8%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
—
Chronically absent
—

Student demographics

Calvin Vincent PK Head Start

African American: 25.7%Hispanic: 56.9%White: 11.6%Asian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 5.5%
  • African American 25.7%
  • Hispanic 56.9%
  • White 11.6%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 5.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,200 reporting for every category shown · 1,200 in full cohort

African American: 15.5%Hispanic: 77.8%White: 4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.1%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 15.5%
  • Hispanic 77.8%
  • White 4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
311
Economically disadvantaged students
311
Emergent bilingual students
75
Special education students
49

TEA context labels

  • Highest grade is early education, pre-K or kindergarten

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
Not reported
Students in TEA mobility denominator
Not reported
TEA-published mobility rate
Not reported

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 318 students in 2025–26, an increase of 7 (2.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
318

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+7

Increase · +2.3%

Change since 2021–22
+28

Increase · +9.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
318
Selected comparison
539.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,186 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Calvin Vincent PK Head Start
School yearStudents enrolledCalvin Vincent PK Head StartChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 290 First available year 592.1
2022–23 331 Increase of 41 (14.1%) 585.3
2023–24 334 Increase of 3 (0.9%) 575.7
2024–25 311 Decrease of 23 (6.9%) 568.8
2025–26 318 Increase of 7 (2.3%) 539.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
364

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Calvin Vincent PK Head Start
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 270 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 286 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 318 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 336 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 364 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Calvin Vincent PK Head Start in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$57k$106k20182020202220242025
  • Calvin Vincent PK Head Start
  • Parent district: Texas City ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$101,179
Selected comparison
$13,706

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,185 rated schools reporting

+$87,473 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $101,179 per student for this campus, $32,061 per student for its parent district, Texas City ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearCalvin Vincent PK Head StartParent district: Texas City ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,773$14,618$13,054$8,427 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,133 rated schools reporting
2019$9,026$15,889$13,108$8,365 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,147 rated schools reporting
2020$8,919$19,291$14,058$8,876 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,150 rated schools reporting
2021$14,542$22,800$14,797$9,811 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,150 rated schools reporting
2022$13,017$22,665$15,708$11,209 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,162 rated schools reporting
2023$28,741$20,933$16,792$11,893 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,172 rated schools reporting
2024$53,365$24,821$18,125$13,008 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,178 rated schools reporting
2025$101,179$32,061$18,972$13,706 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,185 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers

Average salary
$68,515−$329 vs similar economic context
Teachers
21−16.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.5±0.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Calvin Vincent PK Head Start

Beginning: 9.3%1 to 5 years: 29.9%6 to 10 years: 14%11 to 20 years: 32.7%21 to 30 years: 14%
  • Beginning 9.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 29.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 14%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 14%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,200 reporting for every category shown · 1,200 in full cohort

Beginning: 8%1 to 5 years: 26.9%6 to 10 years: 18.5%11 to 20 years: 26.8%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 8%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Where this school ranks best

Out of 10 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 97

    Per-student spending

    Galveston County · of the 97 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 43of 1,200

    Overall score

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,200 that report this measure · tied with 19

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 084906109.