Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Buna JH

Jasper County · Region 05: Beaumont · 289 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
83/1002025-26
Change
+9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.5 ptsvs 82.5 average · 1,595 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
793 of 1,595tied with 63 others
B83

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 74 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.5 average for 1,595 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 24 points

59 to 83 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 83 is 3.2 points above the 79.8 average among 1,530 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
57%vs 53.7% avg · +3.3 pts
Masters
29%vs 26.1% avg · +2.9 pts

Among 1,429 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Buna JH is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.5 average for 1,595 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 793rd of 1,595 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 63 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBuna JH 7476717083 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 74 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8382.5 1,595 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7082.9 1,566 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7180.9 1,539 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7681.4 1,523 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7483.9 1,503 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B−2.5 vs similar economic context · 1,546 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+1.2 vs similar economic context · 1,541 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps83 B+3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,530 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+6.8 vs similar economic context · 1,513 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C−0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,541 reporting
  • Buna JH
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,595 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps83B7
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (83), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level78%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,546 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,546 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,546 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,544 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,544 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,544 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,429 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,429 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,429 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,595 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
289
Economically disadvantaged
47.1%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.0%−11.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.5%+5.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.4%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Buna JH

African American: 1.4%Hispanic: 5.2%White: 91%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 1.4%
  • Hispanic 5.2%
  • White 91%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,595 reporting for every category shown · 1,595 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 39.2%White: 43.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 39.2%
  • White 43.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
289
Economically disadvantaged students
136
Emergent bilingual students
3
Special education students
68

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
37
Students in TEA mobility denominator
340
TEA-published mobility rate
10.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 289 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 29 (9.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
289

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−29

Decrease · −9.1%

Change since 2021–22
−62

Decrease · −17.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
289
Selected comparison
661.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,556 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Buna JH
School yearStudents enrolledBuna JHChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 351 First available year 659.1
2022–23 348 Decrease of 3 (0.9%) 664.6
2023–24 330 Decrease of 18 (5.2%) 664.3
2024–25 318 Decrease of 12 (3.6%) 661.9
2025–26 289 Decrease of 29 (9.1%) 661.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
79

23.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
238

70.00 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
340

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
23.2%
Selected comparison
11.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,248 rated schools reporting

+11.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
70
Selected comparison
26.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,338 rated schools reporting

+43.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Buna JH
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 388 69 17.8% 162 41.75 9.5% 18.1
2021–22 391 107 27.4% 263 67.26 11.8% 25.6
2022–23 369 100 27.1% 276 74.80 12.2% 27.1
2023–24 359 93 25.9% 268 74.65 12.2% 27.8
2024–25 340 79 23.2% 238 70.00 11.8% 26.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Buna JH in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 79 23.2% 238 70.00 11.8% 26.1
In-school suspensions 70 20.6% 176 51.76 10.7% 20.1
Out-of-school suspensions 21 6.2% 41 12.06 5.9% 8.3
DAEP placements 14 4.1% 21 6.18 4.3% 5.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Buna JH
  • Parent district: Buna ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,065
Selected comparison
$11,971

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,564 rated schools reporting

−$906 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,065 per student for this campus, $18,259 per student for its parent district, Buna ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBuna JHParent district: Buna ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,535$12,441$13,054$7,817 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,441 rated schools reporting
2019$8,091$12,921$13,108$8,002 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,460 rated schools reporting
2020$8,937$12,730$14,058$8,484 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,472 rated schools reporting
2021$8,255$13,873$14,797$8,893 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,492 rated schools reporting
2022$8,770$14,844$15,708$10,163 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,505 rated schools reporting
2023$8,244$14,464$16,792$10,611 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,522 rated schools reporting
2024$10,416$18,500$18,125$11,570 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,538 rated schools reporting
2025$11,065$18,259$18,972$11,971 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,564 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,990−$1,024 vs similar economic context
Teachers
27−15.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.6−9.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Buna JH

1 to 5 years: 20.1%6 to 10 years: 18.3%11 to 20 years: 19%21 to 30 years: 26%Over 30 years: 16.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 20.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 19%
  • 21 to 30 years 26%
  • Over 30 years 16.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,595 reporting for every category shown · 1,595 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Buna JH in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBuna JH · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 621.117.7
Secondary English13.515.2
Secondary languages other than English2317.6
Secondary math16.816.2
Secondary science18.617.7
Secondary social studies22.217.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 117 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

21 measures

  • 4of 15

    Attendance

    Jasper County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 4of 15

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Jasper County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 4of 14

    Academic Growth

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 4of 14

    Science — Masters

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 5of 14

    Closing the Gaps

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 14

    All Subjects — Masters

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 14

    Reading — Masters

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 15

    Per-student spending

    Jasper County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    School Progress

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 14

    Reading — Approaches

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Reading — Meets

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Science — Meets

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 14

    Relative Performance

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Math — Meets

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 14

    Science — Approaches

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 15

    Overall score

    Jasper County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Student Achievement

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 14

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 8of 14

    Math — Approaches

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 14

    All Subjects — Meets

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 10of 14

    Math — Masters

    Jasper County · of the 14 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 121903041.