Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Brownwood MS

Brown County · Region 15: San Angelo · 490 students

Current score
82/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 1,969 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
888 of 1,969tied with 82 others
B82

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.4 average for 1,969 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 3 points

82 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 3.8 points above the 81.2 average among 1,872 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 49% avg · +1 pts
Masters
22%vs 20.1% avg · +1.9 pts

Among 1,879 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
51%vs 43.1% avg · +7.9 pts
Masters
22%vs 16.6% avg · +5.4 pts

Among 1,868 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Brownwood MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 82 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 1,969 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 888th of 1,969 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
25.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
2.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBrownwood MS 8079818182 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8280.4 1,969 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8180.2 1,944 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8178.2 1,924 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7978.7 1,892 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8082.4 1,867 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B+1.4 vs similar economic context · 1,879 reporting
  • School Progress85 B+3.8 vs similar economic context · 1,872 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps74 C−3.7 vs similar economic context · 1,854 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,816 reporting
  • Relative Performance85 B+5.5 vs similar economic context · 1,872 reporting
  • Brownwood MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,969 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps74C6
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance85B5

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 5 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (85), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,876 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,868 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,868 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,868 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,720 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level58%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 949 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 949 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 949 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,969 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
490
Economically disadvantaged
61.8%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.1%−13.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.6%+0.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.0%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.7%+3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Brownwood MS

African American: 2.9%Hispanic: 44.1%White: 48.6%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 0.6%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 2.9%
  • Hispanic 44.1%
  • White 48.6%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 reporting for every category shown · 1,969 in full cohort

African American: 10.7%Hispanic: 49.5%White: 33.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.7%
  • Hispanic 49.5%
  • White 33.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
490
Economically disadvantaged students
303
Emergent bilingual students
15
Special education students
96

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
64
Students in TEA mobility denominator
511
TEA-published mobility rate
12.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 490 students in 2025–26, an increase of 18 (3.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
490

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+18

Increase · +3.8%

Change since 2021–22
−16

Decrease · −3.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
490
Selected comparison
627.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Brownwood MS
School yearStudents enrolledBrownwood MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 506 First available year 640
2022–23 485 Decrease of 21 (4.2%) 644.3
2023–24 468 Decrease of 17 (3.5%) 641.5
2024–25 472 Increase of 4 (0.9%) 638.1
2025–26 490 Increase of 18 (3.8%) 627.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
64

12.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
132

25.83 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
511

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
12.5%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,500 rated schools reporting

−0.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
25.83
Selected comparison
29.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,626 rated schools reporting

−3.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Brownwood MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 625 105 16.8% 230 36.80 9.7% 19.2
2021–22 556 126 22.7% 259 46.58 12.7% 29.2
2022–23 526 94 17.9% 189 35.93 13.2% 31.2
2023–24 500 59 11.8% 153 30.60 13.1% 31.1
2024–25 511 64 12.5% 132 25.83 12.8% 29.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Brownwood MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 64 12.5% 132 25.83 12.8% 29.4
In-school suspensions 46 9.0% 73 14.29 11.5% 22.7
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements 31 6.1% 50 9.78 4.9% 5.9
Mandatory DAEP placements 23 4.5% 32 6.26 3.5% 4.1
Discretionary DAEP placements 14 2.7% 18 3.52 2.8% 3.2
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Brownwood MS
  • Parent district: Brownwood ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,932
Selected comparison
$12,502

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,940 rated schools reporting

−$3,570 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,932 per student for this campus, $24,164 per student for its parent district, Brownwood ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBrownwood MSParent district: Brownwood ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,810$9,859$13,054$7,923 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,797 rated schools reporting
2019$7,315$10,604$13,108$8,070 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,813 rated schools reporting
2020$7,744$11,205$14,058$8,678 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,835 rated schools reporting
2021$7,002$11,772$14,797$9,106 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,848 rated schools reporting
2022$7,768$12,974$15,708$10,467 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,868 rated schools reporting
2023$8,700$15,637$16,792$11,140 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 rated schools reporting
2024$9,202$17,778$18,125$11,961 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,920 rated schools reporting
2025$8,932$24,164$18,972$12,502 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,940 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,126−$3,221 vs similar economic context
Teachers
37−5.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.3−5.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Brownwood MS

Beginning: 2.7%1 to 5 years: 35.2%6 to 10 years: 25.5%11 to 20 years: 24.7%21 to 30 years: 9.2%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 2.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 35.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 25.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 24.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,969 reporting for every category shown · 1,969 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 25.8%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.3%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Brownwood MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBrownwood MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English22.115
Secondary math22.315.8
Secondary science22.417.2
Secondary social studies22.717.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 4 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

21 measures

  • 4of 17

    Math — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 5of 17

    School Progress

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 5of 17

    Relative Performance

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 5of 17

    Math — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 6of 17

    Reading — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 6of 17

    Science — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 17

    Science — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 6of 17

    Science — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 7of 18

    Overall score

    Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 7of 17

    All Subjects — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 7of 17

    Reading — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 17

    Academic Growth

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 8of 17

    Reading — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 17

    Student Achievement

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 17

    Closing the Gaps

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 17

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 17

    All Subjects — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 9of 17

    Math — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 10

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 9of 10

    Social Studies — Masters

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 10of 10

    Social Studies — Meets

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 025902041.