Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Brazos MS

Austin County · Region 06: Huntsville · 198 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+9.8 ptsvs 81.2 average · 1,776 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
198 of 1,776tied with 81 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.2 average for 1,776 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 4 points

88 to 92 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 92 is 13.6 points above the 78.4 average among 1,686 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
65%vs 51.5% avg · +13.5 pts
Masters
36%vs 21.9% avg · +14.1 pts

Among 1,708 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 45.1% avg · +9.9 pts
Masters
23%vs 18% avg · +5 pts

Among 1,697 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Brazos MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.2 average for 1,776 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 198th of 1,776 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 81 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBrazos MS 9089909091 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9181.2 1,776 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9081.4 1,752 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9079.3 1,726 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8980.0 1,699 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9083.0 1,674 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+9.4 vs similar economic context · 1,708 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+9.8 vs similar economic context · 1,701 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+13.6 vs similar economic context · 1,686 reporting
  • Academic Growth87 B+12.0 vs similar economic context · 1,661 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.8 vs similar economic context · 1,701 reporting
  • Brazos MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,776 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth87B3
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (91), so Student Achievement (90) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 91.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level82%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,708 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,708 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,708 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,706 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,706 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,706 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,697 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,697 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,697 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,567 reporting
  • Meets grade level89%+39 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,567 reporting
  • Masters grade level56%+33 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,567 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 887 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 887 reporting
  • Masters grade level49%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 887 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,776 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
198
Economically disadvantaged
54.0%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
18.2%+4.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.7%+3.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.3%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.7%−10.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Brazos MS

African American: 5.6%Hispanic: 52.5%White: 37.4%Two or More Races: 4.5%
  • African American 5.6%
  • Hispanic 52.5%
  • White 37.4%
  • Two or More Races 4.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,776 reporting for every category shown · 1,776 in full cohort

African American: 9.9%Hispanic: 43.5%White: 39.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.7%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 9.9%
  • Hispanic 43.5%
  • White 39.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
198
Economically disadvantaged students
107
Emergent bilingual students
36
Special education students
45

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
16
Students in TEA mobility denominator
211
TEA-published mobility rate
7.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 198 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 5 (2.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
198

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−5

Decrease · −2.5%

Change since 2021–22
+1

Increase · +0.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
198
Selected comparison
633.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,737 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Brazos MS
School yearStudents enrolledBrazos MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 197 First available year 636.3
2022–23 211 Increase of 14 (7.1%) 642.2
2023–24 211 No change 642.2
2024–25 203 Decrease of 8 (3.8%) 639
2025–26 198 Decrease of 5 (2.5%) 633.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
60

28.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
188

89.10 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
211

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
28.4%
Selected comparison
12.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,372 rated schools reporting

+16.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
89.1
Selected comparison
27.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,481 rated schools reporting

+61.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Brazos MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 215 68 31.6% 160 74.42 9.8% 19
2021–22 223 80 35.9% 215 96.41 12.3% 27.8
2022–23 226 86 38.0% 260 115.04 12.8% 29.5
2023–24 220 101 45.9% 267 121.36 12.7% 29.5
2024–25 211 60 28.4% 188 89.10 12.4% 27.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Brazos MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 60 28.4% 188 89.10 12.4% 27.7
In-school suspensions 59 28.0% 175 82.94 11.2% 21.5
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — 12 5.69 — 8.9
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Brazos MS
  • Parent district: Brazos ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,551
Selected comparison
$12,197

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,749 rated schools reporting

−$1,646 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,551 per student for this campus, $16,427 per student for its parent district, Brazos ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBrazos MSParent district: Brazos ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,509$12,386$13,054$7,874 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,613 rated schools reporting
2019$7,371$12,969$13,108$8,069 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 rated schools reporting
2020$9,052$13,202$14,058$8,629 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,645 rated schools reporting
2021$8,581$14,623$14,797$9,013 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting
2022$9,173$16,443$15,708$10,315 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,676 rated schools reporting
2023$9,547$17,868$16,792$10,833 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,699 rated schools reporting
2024$10,227$16,720$18,125$11,722 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,723 rated schools reporting
2025$10,551$16,427$18,972$12,197 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,749 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$62,870−$3,730 vs similar economic context
Teachers
16−25.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.1−7.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Brazos MS

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 28.2%6 to 10 years: 9.8%11 to 20 years: 23.3%21 to 30 years: 19%Over 30 years: 12.3%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 28.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 9.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 19%
  • Over 30 years 12.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,776 reporting for every category shown · 1,776 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.8%1 to 5 years: 24.9%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 28.8%21 to 30 years: 16.4%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Brazos MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBrazos MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 616.717.6
Secondary English17.714.9
Secondary math16.815.8
Secondary science15.217.3
Secondary social studies18.717.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 117 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

10 measures

  • 1of 12

    Overall score

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 12

    Student Achievement

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 12

    School Progress

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    Closing the Gaps

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    Relative Performance

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    All Subjects — Masters

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    Reading — Masters

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 11

    Science — Meets

    Austin County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 1of 11

    Science — Masters

    Austin County · of the 11 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

5 measures

  • 2of 12

    All Subjects — Meets

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Reading — Meets

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 2of 12

    Attendance

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 11

    Academic Growth

    Austin County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 11

    Science — Approaches

    Austin County · of the 11 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

6 measures

  • 4of 12

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 12

    Reading — Approaches

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 4of 12

    Math — Meets

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 4of 12

    Math — Masters

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 5of 12

    Per-student spending

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 7of 12

    Math — Approaches

    Austin County · of the 12 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 35of 887

    Social Studies — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 887 that report this measure · tied with 5

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 008903041.