Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bonham MS

Ector County · Region 18: Midland · 828 students

Current score
68/1002025-26
Change
−7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−9.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,214 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,808 of 2,214tied with 44 others
D68

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 77 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.5 average for 2,214 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bonham MS is rated D by TEA, scoring 68 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.5 average for 2,214 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,808th of 2,214 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 44 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: Continuously Enrolled

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
34.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
6.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBonham MS 7565657668 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 77 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6877.5 2,214 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7677.2 2,200 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6574.6 2,186 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6575.0 2,169 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7581.6 2,150 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement64 D−8.1 vs similar economic context · 2,049 reporting
  • School Progress70 C−8.7 vs similar economic context · 2,042 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps64 D−10.6 vs similar economic context · 2,028 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−2.2 vs similar economic context · 1,997 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−7.1 vs similar economic context · 2,042 reporting
  • Bonham MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,214 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement64D6
School Progress70C10
Closing the Gaps64D6
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 6 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (70), so Student Achievement (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 70.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level60%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,049 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,049 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,049 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,047 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,047 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,047 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,037 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,037 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,037 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level32%−34 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Meets grade level10%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 811 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,214 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
828
Economically disadvantaged
80.8%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
24.6%−5.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.0%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
92.6%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.3%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bonham MS

African American: 3.7%Hispanic: 83.8%White: 10%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 0.1%Pacific Islander: 0.7%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 3.7%
  • Hispanic 83.8%
  • White 10%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 0.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.7%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 reporting for every category shown · 2,214 in full cohort

African American: 14.1%Hispanic: 68.6%White: 12.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.5%
  • African American 14.1%
  • Hispanic 68.6%
  • White 12.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
828
Economically disadvantaged students
669
Emergent bilingual students
204
Special education students
124

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
145
Students in TEA mobility denominator
921
TEA-published mobility rate
15.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 828 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 7 (0.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
828

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−7

Decrease · −0.8%

Change since 2021–22
−142

Decrease · −14.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
828
Selected comparison
626.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,185 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bonham MS
School yearStudents enrolledBonham MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 970 First available year 652.6
2022–23 867 Decrease of 103 (10.6%) 655.4
2023–24 870 Increase of 3 (0.3%) 649.2
2024–25 835 Decrease of 35 (4.0%) 646
2025–26 828 Decrease of 7 (0.8%) 626.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
166

18.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
284

31.73 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
895

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
18.6%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,623 rated schools reporting

+5.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
31.73
Selected comparison
32.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,729 rated schools reporting

−0.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bonham MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,125 131 11.6% 299 26.58 8.4% 16.6
2021–22 1,040 346 33.3% 1,306 125.58 12.9% 30.9
2022–23 966 328 34.0% 1,080 111.80 13.8% 34
2023–24 966 301 31.2% 987 102.17 13.8% 34.1
2024–25 895 166 18.6% 284 31.73 13.3% 32.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bonham MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 166 18.6% 284 31.73 13.3% 32.3
In-school suspensions 75 8.4% 113 12.63 11.7% 23.4
Out-of-school suspensions 63 7.0% 72 8.04 8.3% 13.1
DAEP placements 69 7.7% 92 10.28 5.4% 6.5
Mandatory DAEP placements 46 5.1% 55 6.15 3.9% 4.5
Discretionary DAEP placements 29 3.2% 37 4.13 3.4% 4.1
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Bonham MS
  • Parent district: Ector County ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,122
Selected comparison
$13,068

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,199 rated schools reporting

−$2,946 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,122 per student for this campus, $13,905 per student for its parent district, Ector County ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBonham MSParent district: Ector County ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,044$8,820$13,054$8,159 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,082 rated schools reporting
2019$6,553$9,133$13,108$8,274 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 rated schools reporting
2020$7,370$9,712$14,058$8,779 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,122 rated schools reporting
2021$11,105$11,838$14,797$9,427 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,133 rated schools reporting
2022$11,785$12,512$15,708$10,873 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,151 rated schools reporting
2023$11,507$13,039$16,792$11,358 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,169 rated schools reporting
2024$9,971$13,842$18,125$12,308 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,185 rated schools reporting
2025$10,122$13,905$18,972$13,068 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,199 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,655+$454 vs similar economic context
Teachers
53+9.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.7+1.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bonham MS

Beginning: 7.6%1 to 5 years: 33.7%6 to 10 years: 20.3%11 to 20 years: 23.7%21 to 30 years: 10%Over 30 years: 4.5%
  • Beginning 7.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 33.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 10%
  • Over 30 years 4.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 reporting for every category shown · 2,214 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.9%1 to 5 years: 27.7%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 6.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bonham MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBonham MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 617.917.7
Secondary English21.215.3
Secondary languages other than English30.118.3
Secondary math22.116.6
Secondary science21.117.8
Secondary social studies23.317.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 4of 41

    Per-student spending

    Ector County · of the 41 that report this measure

  • 9of 12

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Ector County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 9of 12

    Social Studies — Meets

    Ector County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 9of 12

    Social Studies — Masters

    Ector County · of the 12 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 068901042.