Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Black Elem

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 570 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
68/1002025-26
Change
−15 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−9.2 ptsvs 77.2 average · 2,374 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,915 of 2,374tied with 45 others
D68

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.2 average for 2,374 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

10.4% −11.7 pts vs 22.1%

  • 10.4% is 11.7 percentage points lower than the 22.1% average among 2,266 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

95.3% +2.2 pts vs 93.1%

  • 95.3% is 2.2 percentage points above the 93.1% average among 2,273 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Black Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 68 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.2 average for 2,374 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 15 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,915th of 2,374 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 45 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBlack Elem 8369797668 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6877.2 2,374 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7677.0 2,361 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7973.9 2,344 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6974.2 2,330 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8381.6 2,302 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement65 D−5.9 vs similar economic context · 2,211 reporting
  • School Progress70 C−8.4 vs similar economic context · 2,204 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps64 D−10.4 vs similar economic context · 2,190 reporting
  • Academic Growth57 F−15.2 vs similar economic context · 2,161 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−6.6 vs similar economic context · 2,204 reporting
  • Black Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,374 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement65D5
School Progress70C10
Closing the Gaps64D6
Academic Growth57F3
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 6 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (70), so Student Achievement (65) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 70.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level64%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,211 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,211 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,211 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,200 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,200 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,200 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,058 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,374 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
570
Economically disadvantaged
85.6%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
38.6%+3.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
23.3%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.3%+2.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.4%−11.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Black Elem

African American: 18.9%Hispanic: 70%White: 8.4%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 0.9%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 18.9%
  • Hispanic 70%
  • White 8.4%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 0.9%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,374 reporting for every category shown · 2,374 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 73.1%White: 8.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 73.1%
  • White 8.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
570
Economically disadvantaged students
488
Emergent bilingual students
220
Special education students
133

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
41
Students in TEA mobility denominator
493
TEA-published mobility rate
8.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 570 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 17 (2.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
570

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−17

Decrease · −2.9%

Change since 2021–22
−82

Decrease · −12.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
570
Selected comparison
610.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,345 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Black Elem
School yearStudents enrolledBlack ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 652 First available year 643.7
2022–23 627 Decrease of 25 (3.8%) 641.2
2023–24 626 Decrease of 1 (0.2%) 634.7
2024–25 587 Decrease of 39 (6.2%) 631.9
2025–26 570 Decrease of 17 (2.9%) 610.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
30

4.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
49

7.84 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
625

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.8%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,625 rated schools reporting

−8.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
7.84
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 rated schools reporting

−24.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Black Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 666 12 1.8% 14 2.10 7.7% 15
2021–22 678 25 3.7% 33 4.87 12.7% 30.2
2022–23 677 31 4.6% 54 7.98 13.6% 33.7
2023–24 658 20 3.0% 41 6.23 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 625 30 4.8% 49 7.84 13.3% 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Black Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 30 4.8% 49 7.84 13.3% 32.1
In-school suspensions 29 4.6% 45 7.20 11.7% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Black Elem
  • Parent district: Mesquite ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,757
Selected comparison
$13,269

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting

−$3,512 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,757 per student for this campus, $15,844 per student for its parent district, Mesquite ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBlack ElemParent district: Mesquite ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,531$13,769$13,054$8,266 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,235 rated schools reporting
2019$7,062$13,140$13,108$8,327 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,266 rated schools reporting
2020$7,251$14,912$14,058$8,851 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,276 rated schools reporting
2021$7,421$11,625$14,797$9,547 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,282 rated schools reporting
2022$8,416$15,447$15,708$11,030 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,302 rated schools reporting
2023$7,602$16,822$16,792$11,566 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,328 rated schools reporting
2024$9,267$16,875$18,125$12,485 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,343 rated schools reporting
2025$9,757$15,844$18,972$13,269 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$70,364+$2,737 vs similar economic context
Teachers
39−3.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.8+0.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Black Elem

Beginning: 5.2%1 to 5 years: 46.8%6 to 10 years: 24.4%11 to 20 years: 18.2%21 to 30 years: 5.5%
  • Beginning 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 46.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 18.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,374 reporting for every category shown · 2,374 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Black Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBlack Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.718.1
Grade 120.318.5
Grade 21918.4
Grade 31818.8
Grade 420.718.8
Grade 522.719.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057914101.