Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bess Brannen Elem

Brazoria County · Region 04: Houston · 724 students

Current score
96/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+13.3 ptsvs 82.7 average · 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
28 of 1,581tied with 16 others
A96

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.7 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

94 to 96 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 96 is 13.3 points above the 82.7 average among 1,581 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 3 points

94 to 97 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 97 is 15.2 points above the 81.8 average among 1,528 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

97 +20.7 pts vs 76.3

  • 97 is 20.7 points above the 76.3 average among 1,500 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
  • 2nd of 1,500 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bess Brannen Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 96 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.7 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 28th of 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 16 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBess Brannen Elem 9191949496 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9682.7 1,581 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9483.0 1,552 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9481.0 1,526 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9181.5 1,510 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9183.9 1,490 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+9.3 vs similar economic context · 1,532 reporting
  • School Progress97 A+15.2 vs similar economic context · 1,528 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps92 A+12.0 vs similar economic context · 1,517 reporting
  • Academic Growth97 A+20.7 vs similar economic context · 1,500 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.7 vs similar economic context · 1,528 reporting
  • Bess Brannen Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress97A—
Closing the Gaps92A—
Academic Growth97A—
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (97), so Student Achievement (92) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 97.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level88%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,532 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,532 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,532 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,530 reporting
  • Meets grade level74%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,530 reporting
  • Masters grade level45%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,530 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 reporting
  • Meets grade level68%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 reporting
  • Masters grade level37%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
724
Economically disadvantaged
46.7%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.2%−6.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.3%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.5%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bess Brannen Elem

African American: 4.6%Hispanic: 38.8%White: 49.4%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 1.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5%
  • African American 4.6%
  • Hispanic 38.8%
  • White 49.4%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 1.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 39%White: 43.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 39%
  • White 43.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
721
Economically disadvantaged students
337
Emergent bilingual students
45
Special education students
132

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
73
Students in TEA mobility denominator
594
TEA-published mobility rate
12.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 724 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 23 (3.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
724

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−23

Decrease · −3.1%

Change since 2021–22
+33

Increase · +4.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
724
Selected comparison
665.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,541 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bess Brannen Elem
School yearStudents enrolledBess Brannen ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 691 First available year 662.2
2022–23 689 Decrease of 2 (0.3%) 667.6
2023–24 729 Increase of 40 (5.8%) 668
2024–25 747 Increase of 18 (2.5%) 665.3
2025–26 724 Decrease of 23 (3.1%) 665.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
11

1.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
16

2.02 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
791

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
1.4%
Selected comparison
11.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,231 rated schools reporting

−10.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.02
Selected comparison
25.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,322 rated schools reporting

−23.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bess Brannen Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 684 10 1.5% 16 2.34 9.5% 18
2021–22 751 28 3.7% 39 5.19 11.7% 25.3
2022–23 727 13 1.8% 37 5.09 12.0% 26.8
2023–24 745 Suppressed — 18 2.42 — 27.4
2024–25 791 11 1.4% 16 2.02 11.7% 25.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bess Brannen Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 11 1.4% 16 2.02 11.7% 25.7
In-school suspensions 11 1.4% 13 1.64 10.6% 19.8
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$15k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Bess Brannen Elem
  • Parent district: Brazosport ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,300
Selected comparison
$11,916

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

−$3,616 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,300 per student for this campus, $19,880 per student for its parent district, Brazosport ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBess Brannen ElemParent district: Brazosport ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,292$15,191$13,054$7,820 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,430 rated schools reporting
2019$6,586$15,566$13,108$8,001 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 rated schools reporting
2020$7,306$20,536$14,058$8,479 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,461 rated schools reporting
2021$7,719$23,809$14,797$8,895 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,480 rated schools reporting
2022$7,721$21,001$15,708$10,154 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,493 rated schools reporting
2023$7,937$20,584$16,792$10,611 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,510 rated schools reporting
2024$8,346$20,103$18,125$11,551 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 rated schools reporting
2025$8,300$19,880$18,972$11,916 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,101+$5 vs similar economic context
Teachers
50+6.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4−6.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bess Brannen Elem

Beginning: 8%1 to 5 years: 28%6 to 10 years: 24%11 to 20 years: 34%21 to 30 years: 4%Over 30 years: 2%
  • Beginning 8%
  • 1 to 5 years 28%
  • 6 to 10 years 24%
  • 11 to 20 years 34%
  • 21 to 30 years 4%
  • Over 30 years 2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 23.9%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.9%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bess Brannen Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBess Brannen Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.218
Grade 122.318.4
Grade 220.218.6
Grade 319.819.2
Grade 421.519.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

2 measures

  • 1of 1,224

    Academic Growth

    Region 04: Houston · of the 1,224 that report this measure · tied with 7

  • 1of 93

    School Progress

    Brazoria County · of the 93 that report this measure · tied with 1

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

2 measures

  • 28of 1,581

    Overall score

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,581 that report this measure · tied with 16

  • 77of 1,532

    All Subjects — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,532 that report this measure · tied with 15

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 020905111.