Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Benfer Elem

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 638 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
−3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+6.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
525 of 2,022tied with 83 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.5 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 2 points

80 to 82 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 82 is 5.2 points above the 76.8 average among 1,908 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
56%vs 47% avg · +9 pts
Masters
27%vs 19% avg · +8 pts

Among 1,908 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
53%vs 41.5% avg · +11.5 pts
Masters
25%vs 15.8% avg · +9.2 pts

Among 1,897 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Benfer Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.5 average for 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 525th of 2,022 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 83 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBenfer Elem 8981818786 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8679.5 2,022 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8779.3 2,000 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8177.2 1,985 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8177.8 1,954 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8982.1 1,933 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement82 B+5.2 vs similar economic context · 1,908 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+5.5 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps87 B+10.2 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Academic Growth79 C+5.4 vs similar economic context · 1,841 reporting
  • Relative Performance86 B+7.1 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • Benfer Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement82B8
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps87B3
Academic Growth79C1
Relative Performance86B4

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (82) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level79%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,908 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,022 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
638
Economically disadvantaged
67.9%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
15.1%−4.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.6%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.9%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Benfer Elem

African American: 27%Hispanic: 39.9%White: 21.7%Asian: 4.1%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 7.1%
  • African American 27%
  • Hispanic 39.9%
  • White 21.7%
  • Asian 4.1%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 7.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

African American: 12.1%Hispanic: 54.6%White: 27%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 12.1%
  • Hispanic 54.6%
  • White 27%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
636
Economically disadvantaged students
432
Emergent bilingual students
96
Special education students
131

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
115
Students in TEA mobility denominator
618
TEA-published mobility rate
18.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 638 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 45 (6.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
638

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−45

Decrease · −6.6%

Change since 2021–22
−160

Decrease · −20.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
638
Selected comparison
636

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,987 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Benfer Elem
School yearStudents enrolledBenfer ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 798 First available year 647.9
2022–23 795 Decrease of 3 (0.4%) 655
2023–24 777 Decrease of 18 (2.3%) 654.7
2024–25 683 Decrease of 94 (12.1%) 651.7
2025–26 638 Decrease of 45 (6.6%) 636

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
22

2.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
39

5.17 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
754

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.9%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

−10.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
5.17
Selected comparison
30.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting

−25.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Benfer Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 833 11 1.3% 15 1.80 9.7% 19.4
2021–22 858 16 1.9% 44 5.13 12.8% 30.2
2022–23 892 22 2.5% 63 7.06 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 843 32 3.8% 53 6.29 13.2% 32
2024–25 754 22 2.9% 39 5.17 12.9% 30.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Benfer Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 22 2.9% 39 5.17 12.9% 30.5
In-school suspensions 14 1.9% 17 2.25 11.6% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — 14 1.86 — 10.7
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Benfer Elem
  • Parent district: Klein ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,163
Selected comparison
$13,222

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

−$4,059 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,163 per student for this campus, $16,739 per student for its parent district, Klein ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBenfer ElemParent district: Klein ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,429$12,935$13,054$8,003 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,861 rated schools reporting
2019$6,675$12,174$13,108$8,167 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 rated schools reporting
2020$6,002$10,934$14,058$8,722 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 rated schools reporting
2021$7,513$12,557$14,797$9,214 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,910 rated schools reporting
2022$7,366$13,000$15,708$10,506 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting
2023$7,356$13,779$16,792$11,229 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 rated schools reporting
2024$8,483$17,266$18,125$12,385 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2025$9,163$16,739$18,972$13,222 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$72,114+$5,596 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+5.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.1−0.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Benfer Elem

Beginning: 2.1%1 to 5 years: 24.8%6 to 10 years: 22.7%11 to 20 years: 33.9%21 to 30 years: 14.5%Over 30 years: 2.1%
  • Beginning 2.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 22.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 33.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.5%
  • Over 30 years 2.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,022 reporting for every category shown · 2,022 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.4%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.8%21 to 30 years: 15.5%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.5%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Benfer Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBenfer Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten18.118
Grade 118.518.2
Grade 218.718.4
Grade 31918.7
Grade 417.919
Grade 519.819.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101915107.