Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Belton New Tech HS at Waskow

Bell County · Region 12: Waco · 266 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2022-23
Score vs similar economic context
+1.1 ptsvs 87.9 average · 951 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
486 of 951tied with 57 others
B89

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is above the 87.9 average for 951 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 3 points

85 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 3.4 points above the 84.6 average among 928 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
83%vs 63.9% avg · +19.1 pts
Masters
48%vs 36.3% avg · +11.7 pts

Among 847 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

91 +5.6 pts vs 85.4

  • 91 is 5.6 points above the 85.4 average among 921 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Belton New Tech HS at Waskow is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 87.9 average for 951 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2022-23.

Ranks 486th of 951 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 57 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 4 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

4 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBelton New Tech HS at Waskow 81859189 2022-232023-242024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8987.9 951 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9187.8 937 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8586.5 924 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8186.8 907 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B−3.6 vs similar economic context · 930 reporting
  • School Progress88 B+3.4 vs similar economic context · 928 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+5.6 vs similar economic context · 921 reporting
  • Academic Growth83 B+2.0 vs similar economic context · 911 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+8.1 vs similar economic context · 928 reporting
  • Belton New Tech HS at Waskow
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (951 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress88B2
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth83B7
Relative Performance88B2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (88), so Student Achievement (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level97%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 930 reporting
  • Meets grade level79%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 930 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 930 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 929 reporting
  • Meets grade level84%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 929 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 929 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level98%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 847 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 847 reporting
  • Masters grade level48%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 847 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level100%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 460 reporting
  • Meets grade level95%+32 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 460 reporting
  • Masters grade level55%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 460 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (951 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
0.0%−91.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 261 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−91.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 261 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−91.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 262 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.7%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 262 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
86.0%−2.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria86.0%88.8%−2.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 262 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course62.1%65.1%−3.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA39.4%44.9%−5.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)31.8%22.2%+9.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course28.8%38.5%−9.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification37.9%34.0%+3.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.6%−0.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.6%−4.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%7.3%−7.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%2.5%−2.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student6.1%6.6%−0.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.5%3.0%−1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 263 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
266
Economically disadvantaged
27.8%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.0%−7.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.7%−2.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.7%+3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Belton New Tech HS at Waskow

African American: 5.3%Hispanic: 28.2%White: 57.5%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 2.3%Two or More Races: 6.4%
  • African American 5.3%
  • Hispanic 28.2%
  • White 57.5%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Two or More Races 6.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 951 reporting for every category shown · 951 in full cohort

African American: 9%Hispanic: 28.9%White: 48%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 8.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5%
  • African American 9%
  • Hispanic 28.9%
  • White 48%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 8.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
266
Economically disadvantaged students
74
Emergent bilingual students
8
Special education students
39

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
36
Students in TEA mobility denominator
303
TEA-published mobility rate
11.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 266 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 18 (6.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
266

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−18

Decrease · −6.3%

Change since 2022–23
+100

Increase · +60.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
266
Selected comparison
812.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 941 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Belton New Tech HS at Waskow
School yearStudents enrolledBelton New Tech HS at WaskowChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2022–23 166 First available year 832.7
2023–24 242 Increase of 76 (45.8%) 826.5
2024–25 284 Increase of 42 (17.4%) 823.2
2025–26 266 Decrease of 18 (6.3%) 812.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
24

8.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
43

14.68 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
293

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
8.2%
Selected comparison
8.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 694 rated schools reporting

−0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
14.68
Selected comparison
16.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 781 rated schools reporting

−2.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Belton New Tech HS at Waskow
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2022–23 174 23 13.2% 54 31.03 9.1% 18.4
2023–24 249 23 9.2% 41 16.47 8.6% 17.7
2024–25 293 24 8.2% 43 14.68 8.3% 16.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Belton New Tech HS at Waskow in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 24 8.2% 43 14.68 8.3% 16.7
In-school suspensions 21 7.2% 35 11.95 7.5% 13.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$15k$22k20232025
  • Belton New Tech HS at Waskow
  • Parent district: Belton ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,272
Selected comparison
$11,409

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 936 rated schools reporting

−$1,137 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,272 per student for this campus, $15,078 per student for its parent district, Belton ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBelton New Tech HS at WaskowParent district: Belton ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2023$8,323$16,763$16,792$10,170 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 908 rated schools reporting
2024$10,830$21,002$18,125$11,334 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 923 rated schools reporting
2025$10,272$15,078$18,972$11,409 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 936 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,772−$3,612 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−30.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12−2.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Belton New Tech HS at Waskow

Beginning: 4.5%1 to 5 years: 22.6%6 to 10 years: 22.6%11 to 20 years: 31.7%21 to 30 years: 19%
  • Beginning 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 22.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 19%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 951 reporting for every category shown · 951 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 32.3%21 to 30 years: 17.4%Over 30 years: 3.2%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Belton New Tech HS at Waskow in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBelton New Tech HS at Waskow · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English14.616.9
Secondary languages other than English17.819.2
Secondary math11.517.6
Secondary science19.619.2
Secondary social studies1619.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

6 measures

  • 1of 283

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Region 12: Waco · of the 283 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 1of 147

    Social Studies — Meets

    Region 12: Waco · of the 147 that report this measure

  • 1of 95

    Reading — Approaches

    Bell County · of the 95 that report this measure

  • 1of 95

    Reading — Meets

    Bell County · of the 95 that report this measure

  • 1of 41

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Bell County · of the 41 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 41

    Social Studies — Masters

    Bell County · of the 41 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

4 measures

  • 3of 95

    All Subjects — Meets

    Bell County · of the 95 that report this measure

  • 3of 95

    Math — Approaches

    Bell County · of the 95 that report this measure

  • 3of 18

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 3of 18

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

8 measures

  • 4of 93

    Science — Masters

    Bell County · of the 93 that report this measure

  • 4of 18

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 5of 93

    Science — Approaches

    Bell County · of the 93 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 93

    Science — Meets

    Bell County · of the 93 that report this measure

  • 6of 18

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 10of 95

    All Subjects — Masters

    Bell County · of the 95 that report this measure

  • 10of 18

    College, career or military ready

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 18

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Bell County · of the 18 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 014903025.