Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bear Branch Int

Montgomery County · Region 06: Huntsville · 691 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
−3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.5 ptsvs 82.5 average · 1,599 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,052 of 1,599tied with 51 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 82.5 average for 1,599 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Relative Performance above the similar-context average

82 +2.7 pts vs 79.3

  • 82 is 2.7 points above the 79.3 average among 1,545 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bear Branch Int is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.5 average for 1,599 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,052nd of 1,599 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 51 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBear Branch Int 8283838879 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7982.5 1,599 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8882.9 1,570 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8380.8 1,543 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8381.4 1,526 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8283.9 1,506 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement83 B+0.5 vs similar economic context · 1,550 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,545 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−9.8 vs similar economic context · 1,534 reporting
  • Academic Growth65 D−11.2 vs similar economic context · 1,517 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,545 reporting
  • Bear Branch Int
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,599 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement83B7
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth65D5
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 7 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (83), so School Progress (82) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 83.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,550 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,550 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,550 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,548 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,548 reporting
  • Masters grade level34%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,548 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,432 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,432 reporting
  • Masters grade level25%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,432 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,599 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
691
Economically disadvantaged
47.2%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
21.3%+8.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.3%+3.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.1%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.3%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bear Branch Int

African American: 6.7%Hispanic: 44.3%White: 43.5%American Indian: 0.1%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 2.8%
  • African American 6.7%
  • Hispanic 44.3%
  • White 43.5%
  • American Indian 0.1%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,599 reporting for every category shown · 1,599 in full cohort

African American: 9.4%Hispanic: 39.3%White: 43.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.4%
  • Hispanic 39.3%
  • White 43.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
690
Economically disadvantaged students
326
Emergent bilingual students
147
Special education students
154

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
138
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,163
TEA-published mobility rate
11.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 691 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 391 (36.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
691

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−391

Decrease · −36.1%

Change since 2021–22
−304

Decrease · −30.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
691
Selected comparison
661.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,560 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bear Branch Int
School yearStudents enrolledBear Branch IntChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 995 First available year 659.2
2022–23 1,017 Increase of 22 (2.2%) 664.5
2023–24 1,019 Increase of 2 (0.2%) 663.7
2024–25 1,082 Increase of 63 (6.2%) 661.5
2025–26 691 Decrease of 391 (36.1%) 661.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
107

9.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
222

19.14 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,160

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.2%
Selected comparison
11.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,247 rated schools reporting

−2.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
19.14
Selected comparison
26

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,339 rated schools reporting

−6.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bear Branch Int
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,030 39 3.8% 52 5.05 9.5% 18
2021–22 1,072 132 12.3% 261 24.35 11.8% 25.6
2022–23 1,089 117 10.7% 244 22.41 12.1% 27
2023–24 1,084 86 7.9% 149 13.75 12.1% 27.8
2024–25 1,160 107 9.2% 222 19.14 11.8% 26
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bear Branch Int in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 107 9.2% 222 19.14 11.8% 26
In-school suspensions 103 8.9% 199 17.16 10.7% 20.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — 13 1.12 — 8.3
DAEP placements Suppressed — 10 0.86 — 5.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$15k$24k2019202120232025
  • Bear Branch Int
  • Parent district: Magnolia ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,278
Selected comparison
$11,966

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,568 rated schools reporting

−$4,688 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,278 per student for this campus, $16,474 per student for its parent district, Magnolia ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBear Branch IntParent district: Magnolia ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2019$6,268$11,566$13,108$7,993 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,463 rated schools reporting
2020$6,779$11,137$14,058$8,477 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,475 rated schools reporting
2021$7,153$12,535$14,797$8,884 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,495 rated schools reporting
2022$7,382$12,298$15,708$10,152 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,508 rated schools reporting
2023$7,729$16,898$16,792$10,601 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 rated schools reporting
2024$7,932$22,620$18,125$11,568 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 rated schools reporting
2025$7,278$16,474$18,972$11,966 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,568 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,617−$2,390 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+5.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.3−6.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bear Branch Int

Beginning: 18.6%1 to 5 years: 21.1%6 to 10 years: 27.1%11 to 20 years: 21.1%21 to 30 years: 10.3%Over 30 years: 2.1%
  • Beginning 18.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 27.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 10.3%
  • Over 30 years 2.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,599 reporting for every category shown · 1,599 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bear Branch Int in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBear Branch Int · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 51220
Grade 618.317.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 2 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 170906062.