Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Bangs MS

Brown County · Region 15: San Angelo · 194 students

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.9 ptsvs 79.1 average · 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
170 of 2,012tied with 69 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.1 average for 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 5 points

86 to 91 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 91 is 11.9 points above the 79.1 average among 2,012 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 8 points

83 to 91 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 91 is 14.7 points above the 76.3 average among 1,873 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
60%vs 46% avg · +14 pts
Masters
27%vs 18.4% avg · +8.6 pts

Among 1,892 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Bangs MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.1 average for 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 170th of 2,012 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 69 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBangs MS 8280858691 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9179.1 2,012 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8678.8 1,993 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8576.7 1,978 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8077.2 1,951 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8281.9 1,932 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement87 B+11.0 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+14.7 vs similar economic context · 1,873 reporting
  • Academic Growth87 B+13.8 vs similar economic context · 1,828 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+12.5 vs similar economic context · 1,885 reporting
  • Bangs MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,012 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement87B3
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth87B3
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (91), so Student Achievement (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 91.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level83%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,892 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,882 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Meets grade level79%+36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
  • Masters grade level44%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,742 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 885 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,012 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
194
Economically disadvantaged
70.1%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.6%−18.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
9.8%−9.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.1%−7.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Bangs MS

African American: 2.1%Hispanic: 24.7%White: 71.1%Asian: 1%Two or More Races: 1%
  • African American 2.1%
  • Hispanic 24.7%
  • White 71.1%
  • Asian 1%
  • Two or More Races 1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,012 reporting for every category shown · 2,012 in full cohort

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 56.7%White: 24.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 56.7%
  • White 24.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
194
Economically disadvantaged students
136
Emergent bilingual students
5
Special education students
19

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
34
Students in TEA mobility denominator
218
TEA-published mobility rate
15.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 194 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 7 (3.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
194

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−7

Decrease · −3.5%

Change since 2021–22
−13

Decrease · −6.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
194
Selected comparison
636.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Bangs MS
School yearStudents enrolledBangs MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 207 First available year 648
2022–23 197 Decrease of 10 (4.8%) 654.9
2023–24 198 Increase of 1 (0.5%) 654.1
2024–25 201 Increase of 3 (1.5%) 652
2025–26 194 Decrease of 7 (3.5%) 636.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
58

26.6% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
166

76.15 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
218

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
26.6%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,535 rated schools reporting

+13.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
76.15
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 rated schools reporting

+45.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Bangs MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 290 35 12.1% 68 23.45 9.6% 19
2021–22 226 41 18.1% 79 34.96 12.9% 30.2
2022–23 215 74 34.4% 168 78.14 13.5% 32.4
2023–24 214 66 30.8% 148 69.16 13.3% 32.2
2024–25 218 58 26.6% 166 76.15 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Bangs MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 58 26.6% 166 76.15 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 51 23.4% 129 59.17 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 19 8.7% 24 11.01 7.4% 11.1
DAEP placements Suppressed — 13 5.96 — 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Bangs MS
  • Parent district: Bangs ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,285
Selected comparison
$13,203

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

−$2,918 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,285 per student for this campus, $15,749 per student for its parent district, Bangs ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBangs MSParent district: Bangs ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,508$10,474$13,054$8,024 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,857 rated schools reporting
2019$6,718$10,652$13,108$8,186 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,874 rated schools reporting
2020$7,881$11,786$14,058$8,743 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,895 rated schools reporting
2021$7,410$12,040$14,797$9,233 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,909 rated schools reporting
2022$8,720$14,215$15,708$10,499 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting
2023$9,352$14,396$16,792$11,189 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,953 rated schools reporting
2024$10,596$15,718$18,125$12,419 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,977 rated schools reporting
2025$10,285$15,749$18,972$13,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,992 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$51,390−$15,036 vs similar economic context
Teachers
17−26.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.7−2.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Bangs MS

Beginning: 5.4%1 to 5 years: 42.8%6 to 10 years: 31.3%11 to 20 years: 13.9%21 to 30 years: 5.4%
  • Beginning 5.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 42.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 31.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 13.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,012 reporting for every category shown · 2,012 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Bangs MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBangs MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 618.917.9
Secondary English14.815.2
Secondary languages other than English2417.9
Secondary math14.516.2
Secondary science14.317.5
Secondary social studies20.817.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

7 measures

  • 1of 18

    Overall score

    Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 1of 18

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 1of 17

    School Progress

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 17

    Closing the Gaps

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 17

    Academic Growth

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 1of 17

    Relative Performance

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 1of 17

    Science — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

8 measures

  • 2of 17

    All Subjects — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 17

    Reading — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 2of 17

    Math — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 3of 18

    Attendance

    Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 17

    Student Achievement

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 3of 17

    All Subjects — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 3of 17

    Reading — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 3of 17

    Science — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 4of 18

    Per-student spending

    Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure

  • 4of 17

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 17

    Reading — Meets

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 4of 17

    Science — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 5of 17

    Math — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 5of 17

    Math — Masters

    Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 8of 10

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 9of 10

    Social Studies — Meets

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 10of 10

    Social Studies — Masters

    Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 025901041.