Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Balmorhea ISD Educational Community

Reeves County · Region 18: Midland · 149 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.7 ptsvs 77.3 average · 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
483 of 2,372tied with 90 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.3 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Top placement

Earned an industry-based certification

100% Tied for 1st of 352 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 4 share this value

See the full measure

Top placement

Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

25% 2nd of 352 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 44.9% avg · +16.1 pts
Masters
26%vs 17.6% avg · +8.4 pts

Among 2,212 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Balmorhea ISD Educational Community is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.3 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 483rd of 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 90 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageBalmorhea ISD Educational Community 7887888886 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8677.3 2,372 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8877.1 2,359 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8874.0 2,342 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8774.2 2,329 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7881.7 2,301 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement87 B+16.1 vs similar economic context · 2,213 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+8.5 vs similar economic context · 2,206 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps85 B+10.5 vs similar economic context · 2,192 reporting
  • Academic Growth64 D−8.3 vs similar economic context · 2,164 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+10.3 vs similar economic context · 2,206 reporting
  • Balmorhea ISD Educational Community
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement87B3
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps85B5
Academic Growth64D6
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level61%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+8.9 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
100.0%+8.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+9.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−1.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
100.0%+15.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria100.0%84.2%+15.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course25.0%57.1%−32.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA12.5%21.2%−8.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%12.4%−12.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course62.5%28.6%+33.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification100.0%34.2%+65.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate12.5%2.7%+9.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree25.0%7.0%+18.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%6.2%−6.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.0%−3.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student12.5%7.8%+4.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces25.0%2.8%+22.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
149
Economically disadvantaged
85.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
8.1%−27.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.1%−4.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.6%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.9%−13.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Balmorhea ISD Educational Community

Hispanic: 77.2%White: 21.5%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • Hispanic 77.2%
  • White 21.5%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

African American: 14.3%Hispanic: 73.3%White: 8.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 14.3%
  • Hispanic 73.3%
  • White 8.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
149
Economically disadvantaged students
128
Emergent bilingual students
12
Special education students
21

Early college pathways

Early College High School
30

TEA-published share: 20.1%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
12
Students in TEA mobility denominator
135
TEA-published mobility rate
8.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 149 students in 2025–26, an increase of 3 (2.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
149

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+3

Increase · +2.1%

Change since 2021–22
+1

Increase · +0.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
149
Selected comparison
606.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,344 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Balmorhea ISD Educational Community
School yearStudents enrolledBalmorhea ISD Educational CommunityChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 148 First available year 641.8
2022–23 144 Decrease of 4 (2.7%) 639.4
2023–24 145 Increase of 1 (0.7%) 631.1
2024–25 146 Increase of 1 (0.7%) 627.2
2025–26 149 Increase of 3 (2.1%) 606.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
18

11.61 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
155

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
11.61
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,728 rated schools reporting

−20.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Balmorhea ISD Educational Community
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 172 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 156 12 7.7% 24 15.38 12.7% 30.3
2022–23 152 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 156 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 155 Suppressed — 18 11.61 — 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Balmorhea ISD Educational Community in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 18 11.61 — 32.1
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 11 7.10 — 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$164k$322k20182020202220242025
  • Balmorhea ISD Educational Community
  • Parent district: Balmorhea ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$27,320
Selected comparison
$13,289

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting

+$14,031 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $27,320 per student for this campus, $63,551 per student for its parent district, Balmorhea ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearBalmorhea ISD Educational CommunityParent district: Balmorhea ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$10,973$17,570$13,054$8,256 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,234 rated schools reporting
2019$12,115$20,401$13,108$8,323 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,265 rated schools reporting
2020$16,225$51,624$14,058$8,842 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,275 rated schools reporting
2021$14,582$51,935$14,797$9,546 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting
2022$17,150$214,733$15,708$11,041 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,301 rated schools reporting
2023$262,315$306,419$16,792$11,565 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,327 rated schools reporting
2024$60,402$110,810$18,125$12,535 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,342 rated schools reporting
2025$27,320$63,551$18,972$13,289 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,926+$248 vs similar economic context
Teachers
18−23.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
8.2−6.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Balmorhea ISD Educational Community

1 to 5 years: 27.6%6 to 10 years: 11%11 to 20 years: 16.6%21 to 30 years: 22.7%Over 30 years: 22.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 11%
  • 11 to 20 years 16.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 22.7%
  • Over 30 years 22.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Balmorhea ISD Educational Community in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classBalmorhea ISD Educational Community · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten718.1
Grade 18.218.5
Grade 2518.4
Grade 31318.8
Grade 4618.8
Grade 51219.8
Grade 6717.5
Secondary English715.2
Secondary languages other than English5.718.3
Secondary math10.916.6
Secondary science13.317.9
Secondary social studies6.517.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

2 measures

  • 1of 1,606

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Texas average · of the 1,606 that report this measure · tied with 10

  • 1of 43

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Region 18: Midland · of the 43 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 6of 43

    Earned a level I or level II certificate

    Region 18: Midland · of the 43 that report this measure

  • 7of 43

    Earned an associate degree

    Region 18: Midland · of the 43 that report this measure

  • 8of 43

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Region 18: Midland · of the 43 that report this measure

  • 10of 153

    Per-student spending

    Region 18: Midland · of the 153 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 195902001.