+15.7 ptsvs 77.3 average · 2,308 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
71 of 2,308tied with 24 others
Score vs region
+7.3 ptsvs 85.7 average · 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
50 of 505tied with 12 others
Score vs county
+8.5 ptsvs 84.5 average · 253 rated schools in Hidalgo County
Hidalgo County placement
16 of 253tied with 4 others
Score vs similar-size group
+12.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 3,339 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
239 of 3,339tied with 79 others
Score vs state
+11.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
588 of 7,646tied with 249 others
A93
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 98 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.3 average for 2,308 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is above the 84.5 average for 253 rated schools in Hidalgo County.The current score is above the 80.4 average for 3,339 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
77%vs 41.1% avg · +35.9 pts
Masters
37%vs 16.1% avg · +20.9 pts
Among 2,139 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Austin Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.3 average for 2,308 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 71st of 2,308 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 24 others).
Austin Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 50th of 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg (tied with 12 others).
Austin Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 84.5 average for 253 rated schools in Hidalgo County. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 16th of 253 rated schools in Hidalgo County (tied with 4 others).
Austin Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 3,339 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 239th of 3,339 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 79 others).
Austin Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 98 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement93 A+21.8 vs similar economic context · 2,139 reporting
School Progress93 A+14.4 vs similar economic context · 2,132 reporting
Closing the Gaps92 A+17.5 vs similar economic context · 2,117 reporting
Academic Growth75 C+2.8 vs similar economic context · 2,087 reporting
Relative Performance93 A+16.2 vs similar economic context · 2,132 reporting
Austin Elem
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,308 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
93
A
—
School Progress
93
A
—
Closing the Gaps
92
A
—
Academic Growth
75
C
5
Relative Performance
93
A
—
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level97%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,139 reporting
Meets grade level77%+36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,139 reporting
Masters grade level37%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,139 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level98%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,138 reporting
Meets grade level74%+29 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,138 reporting
Masters grade level39%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,138 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level96%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,128 reporting
Meets grade level79%+41 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,128 reporting
Masters grade level36%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,128 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level100%+35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,982 reporting
Meets grade level76%+41 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,982 reporting
Masters grade level39%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,982 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,308 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
344
Economically disadvantaged
84.3%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
21.5%−12.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
11.9%−6.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
16.2%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Austin Elem
African American 0.3%
Hispanic 99.1%
White 0.6%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,308 reporting for every category shown · 2,308 in full cohort
African American 14.4%
Hispanic 71.8%
White 9.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.5%
White 1.9%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Hidalgo County · 253 reporting for every category shown · 253 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.8%
White 1.5%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,339 reporting for every category shown · 3,339 in full cohort
African American 11.1%
Hispanic 54.1%
White 28.7%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 2.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.2%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
344
Economically disadvantaged students
290
Emergent bilingual students
74
Special education students
41
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
47
Students in TEA mobility denominator
257
TEA-published mobility rate
18.3%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 344 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 22 (6.0%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
344
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−22
Decrease · −6.0%
Change since 2021–22
−17
Decrease · −4.7%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
344
Selected comparison
616.1
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,279 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Austin Elem
School year
Students enrolledAustin Elem
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
361
First available year
648.4
2022–23
356
Decrease of 5 (1.4%)
646.8
2023–24
349
Decrease of 7 (2.0%)
640.2
2024–25
366
Increase of 17 (4.9%)
636.9
2025–26
344
Decrease of 22 (6.0%)
616.1
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Suppressed
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
394
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Austin Elem
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
374
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2021–22
403
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2022–23
396
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2023–24
388
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
2024–25
394
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Austin Elem in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Austin Elem
Parent district: Edinburg CISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$13,025
Selected comparison
$13,248
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,292 rated schools reporting
−$223 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $13,025 per student for this campus, $14,448 per student for its parent district, Edinburg CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Austin Elem
Parent district: Edinburg CISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$9,712
$11,287
$13,054
$8,271
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,180 rated schools reporting
2019
$9,593
$11,340
$13,108
$8,348
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,207 rated schools reporting
2020
$10,438
$11,404
$14,058
$8,861
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 rated schools reporting
2021
$12,101
$12,963
$14,797
$9,565
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,225 rated schools reporting
2022
$11,926
$15,174
$15,708
$11,048
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting
2023
$12,211
$15,718
$16,792
$11,526
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,263 rated schools reporting
2024
$13,217
$15,340
$18,125
$12,448
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,277 rated schools reporting
2025
$13,025
$14,448
$18,972
$13,248
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,292 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$69,698+$2,148 vs similar economic context
Teachers
27−15.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.8−1.5 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Austin Elem
Beginning 3.4%
1 to 5 years 26.1%
6 to 10 years 14.9%
11 to 20 years 21.3%
21 to 30 years 34.3%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,308 reporting for every category shown · 2,308 in full cohort
Beginning 7.1%
1 to 5 years 27.3%
6 to 10 years 19%
11 to 20 years 27.3%
21 to 30 years 15%
Over 30 years 3.6%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 19.3%
6 to 10 years 16.2%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 22.6%
Over 30 years 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Hidalgo County · 253 reporting for every category shown · 253 in full cohort
Beginning 2.3%
1 to 5 years 18.4%
6 to 10 years 17.1%
11 to 20 years 37.2%
21 to 30 years 21.6%
Over 30 years 3.5%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 3,339 reporting for every category shown · 3,339 in full cohort
Beginning 6.1%
1 to 5 years 25.2%
6 to 10 years 18.7%
11 to 20 years 28.9%
21 to 30 years 16.8%
Over 30 years 3.9%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Austin Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classAustin Elem · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
17
18
Grade 1
16
18.4
Grade 2
17
18.4
Grade 3
17
18.8
Grade 4
13.5
18.8
Grade 5
20
19.9
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#1 rankings
First-place results
2 measures
1of 1,982
Science — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,982 that report this measure · tied with 24
1of 242
Reading — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 242 that report this measure · tied with 2
#2–3 rankings
Second- and third-place results
1 measure
3of 242
All Subjects — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 242 that report this measure · tied with 3
#4–10 rankings
Fourth- through tenth-place results
4 measures
5of 241
Math — Approaches
Hidalgo County · of the 241 that report this measure · tied with 1
5of 241
Math — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 241 that report this measure
7of 242
All Subjects — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 242 that report this measure
8of 239
Science — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 239 that report this measure
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
9 measures
14of 242
Student Achievement
Hidalgo County · of the 242 that report this measure · tied with 1
14of 242
Reading — Meets
Hidalgo County · of the 242 that report this measure · tied with 2
34of 2,139
All Subjects — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,139 that report this measure · tied with 2
34of 2,138
Reading — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,138 that report this measure · tied with 4
36of 2,128
Math — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,128 that report this measure · tied with 11
53of 1,982
Science — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,982 that report this measure · tied with 2
63of 2,132
Relative Performance
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,132 that report this measure · tied with 17
70of 2,132
School Progress
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,132 that report this measure · tied with 22
71of 2,308
Overall score
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 2,308 that report this measure · tied with 24
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108904101.