Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Andy Dekaney HS

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 2,344 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
+22 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.3 ptsvs 77.3 average · 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,310 of 2,372tied with 76 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 65 in 2021-22. The current score is level with the 77.3 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Relative Performance above the similar-context average

79 +2.3 pts vs 76.7

  • 79 is 2.3 points above the 76.7 average among 2,206 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Andy Dekaney HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 77.3 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 22 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,310th of 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 76 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this school serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Spending per student
  12. Teachers and actual class size
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026-27 school year

Public Education Grant transfer eligibility

Students assigned to this campus may request a transfer under the state's PEG program.

A request is not guaranteed. A receiving district may apply its enrollment rules, and transportation is not automatically provided.

Read the official PEG rules and list

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
35.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
8.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageAndy Dekaney HS 5559595677 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 65 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7777.3 2,372 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25F5677.1 2,359 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5974.0 2,342 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5974.2 2,329 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22F5581.7 2,301 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C+0.1 vs similar economic context · 2,213 reporting
  • School Progress79 C+0.5 vs similar economic context · 2,206 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps71 C−3.5 vs similar economic context · 2,192 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−2.3 vs similar economic context · 2,164 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+2.3 vs similar economic context · 2,206 reporting
  • Andy Dekaney HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps71C9
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (79), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level70%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,212 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,202 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,059 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
80.0%−11.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
78.8%−12.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 300 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
79.6%−11.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 301 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
2.9%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 302 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
85.0%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria85.0%84.2%+0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 350 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course51.9%57.1%−5.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA8.7%21.2%−12.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)8.3%12.4%−4.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course16.1%28.6%−12.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification32.0%34.2%−2.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate4.5%2.7%+1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree4.1%7.0%−2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.2%6.2%−6.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.6%3.0%−2.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.2%7.8%−0.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.9%2.8%+1.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 352 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
390

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
93

23.8% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
252

64.6% of graduates

Not trackable
45

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
390
Selected comparison
265.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
93
Selected comparison
104.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
23.8%
Selected comparison
38.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

−14.6 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
64.6%
Selected comparison
54.5%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

+10.1 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
11.5%
Selected comparison
7.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

+4.4 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. LONE STAR COLLEGE - N. HARRIS (000722)21
  2. PRAIRIE VIEW A&M UNIVERSITY (003630)9
  3. UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON (003652)8

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
2,344
Economically disadvantaged
85.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
35.5%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.4%−6.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
85.5%−7.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
57.6%+35.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Andy Dekaney HS

African American: 41.3%Hispanic: 52.8%White: 1.7%American Indian: 1.4%Asian: 1.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 41.3%
  • Hispanic 52.8%
  • White 1.7%
  • American Indian 1.4%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

African American: 14.3%Hispanic: 73.3%White: 8.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 14.3%
  • Hispanic 73.3%
  • White 8.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
2,344
Economically disadvantaged students
2,014
Emergent bilingual students
832
Special education students
290

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
266

TEA-published share: 11.3%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
773
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,896
TEA-published mobility rate
26.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 2,344 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 141 (5.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
2,344

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−141

Decrease · −5.7%

Change since 2021–22
+128

Increase · +5.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
2,344
Selected comparison
606.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,344 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Andy Dekaney HS
School yearStudents enrolledAndy Dekaney HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 2,216 First available year 641.8
2022–23 2,401 Increase of 185 (8.3%) 639.4
2023–24 2,481 Increase of 80 (3.3%) 631.1
2024–25 2,485 Increase of 4 (0.2%) 627.2
2025–26 2,344 Decrease of 141 (5.7%) 606.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
583

20.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,208

43.30 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,790

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
20.9%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,608 rated schools reporting

+7.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
43.3
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,728 rated schools reporting

+11.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Andy Dekaney HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 2,445 15 0.6% 21 0.86 7.7% 15
2021–22 2,570 588 22.9% 1,284 49.96 12.7% 30.3
2022–23 2,736 766 28.0% 1,692 61.84 13.6% 33.7
2023–24 2,798 618 22.1% 1,526 54.54 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 2,790 583 20.9% 1,208 43.30 13.3% 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Andy Dekaney HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 583 20.9% 1,208 43.30 13.3% 32.1
In-school suspensions 306 11.0% 459 16.45 11.7% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions 419 15.0% 735 26.34 8.7% 14.1
DAEP placements 14 0.5% 14 0.50 5.3% 6.4
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Andy Dekaney HS
  • Parent district: Spring ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,249
Selected comparison
$13,289

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting

−$5,040 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,249 per student for this campus, $18,440 per student for its parent district, Spring ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearAndy Dekaney HSParent district: Spring ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,765$12,612$13,054$8,256 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,234 rated schools reporting
2019$8,531$15,637$13,108$8,323 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,265 rated schools reporting
2020$8,487$15,486$14,058$8,842 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,275 rated schools reporting
2021$6,466$14,638$14,797$9,546 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting
2022$8,148$14,042$15,708$11,041 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,301 rated schools reporting
2023$8,615$15,536$16,792$11,565 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,327 rated schools reporting
2024$8,353$17,211$18,125$12,535 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,342 rated schools reporting
2025$8,249$18,440$18,972$13,289 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,357 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,591−$1,087 vs similar economic context
Teachers
126+83.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
18.7+4.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Andy Dekaney HS

Beginning: 22.1%1 to 5 years: 35.5%6 to 10 years: 24.1%11 to 20 years: 17.5%21 to 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 22.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 35.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 17.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 0.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Andy Dekaney HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classAndy Dekaney HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English14.715.2
Secondary languages other than English24.718.3
Secondary math17.516.6
Secondary science1717.9
Secondary social studies18.517.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101919003.